Every mentor, recruiter and job coach will tell you to research the place you are applying to. You can do this at any point. in your process, and it's particularly good before you write your resume and while preparing for an interview. You should look at the company's website, and you should look for independent news sources about the company and its employees. The resources below will help with the news.
BI: Global is a great first-stop for business information. To find its industry profiles, choose the Industries tab, and then click 'All Industries. Then type your keyword in the box. Often the results include an up-to-date overview as well as links to news about the industry.
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
1966-present. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education; provides access to educational-related literature. Coverage includes journal articles and non-journal sources in education. ERIC is updated monthly.
Some non-journal sources are not available online. If not online, write down the ED# located in the 'Accession Number' field of the record, and check the ERIC documents microfiche cabinets located in the Geisel Library Reference Area.
News about Individual Businesses & Organizations
These resources contain business news and trade journals. Trade journals cover a particular industry and people within that industry read it to keep up with the latest trends. Do you know what trade journals cover the field or profession where you want to work? Here are some examples (hint: they have names that end in Age or World or Week most of the time).
Advertising Age or BrandWeek
Chronicle of Higher Education
ENR (Engineering News Record)
Billboard, Music Week or Rolling Stone
TWICE (this week in consumer electronics)
Variety (entertainment industry)
Why is this important to know? Any industry your target employer belongs to, you can find news about in these kinds of publicaitons. You look informed if you know about and are reading these kinds of news sources.
The news sources below aggregate many business news and trade journals in one place.
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to business. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
BI: Global is a key source for company essays, chronologies and news. You can do a company search on the landing page; if you don't find any results, do an Advanced Search and use the company name as a keyword.
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).
This database covers more than 80 business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Can be searched separately or simultaneously with Business Source Complete (national and international coverage) by using the 'Choose Databases' option from the main search screen.
Factiva.com provides access to over 8,000 sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports Factiva.com delivers content in 22 languages.
See "News Pages" tab for the latest two weeks' content of Wall Street Journal, Barron's, Newsweek, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, & Chicago Tribune
This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Provides cover-to-cover full-text articles from 28 U.S. and international papers, plus television news transcripts and selected full texts from more than 260 additional U.S. newspapers. Coverage dates vary. Updated daily.