Skip to main content
Use Roger, the UCSD Library catalog, to find more items.
Useful subjects are:
- Research vocational guidance
- Science vocational guidance
- College teaching vocational guidance
- Statistics vocational guidance
- Mathematics vocational guidance
How to Succeed as a Scientist
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2011
"This unique, practical guide for postdoctoral researchers and graduate students explains how to build and perfect the necessary research tools and working skills to build a career in academia and beyond. It is based on successful training workshops run by the authors: first, it describes the tools needed for independent research, from writing papers to applying for academic jobs..."
How to Read Like a Pro
Every field and industry has at least one publication that people in the field read to keep up with what's going on. These magazines are in the Library's collections and you can access them and read like any pro in your field! For those exploring careers, they are great sources for inspiration. For job seekers, they are sources that can help you look knowledgable on trends, which can give you an edge for your job interviews and put you at ease for those moments of small talk with a potential employer.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
NASA Technical Reports Server
NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. Some reports are not available full text online, but UCSD can get these for you through interlibrary loan.
International Astronomical Union
The International Astronomical Union focuses on organizing scientific meetings.
International Mathematical Union
The International Mathematical Union seeks to promote international collaboration in mathematics.
Mathematical Association of America
The Mathematical Association of America seeks to promote mathematics at the collegiate level.
American Institute of Physics
From the AIP's website: "AIP's mission is to advance, promote and serve the physical sciences for the benefit of humanity."
American Physical Society
From the APS website: "The American Physical Society (www.aps.org) is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy and international activities."