Skip to main content
Science & Engineering Databases
Article databases are organized by broad subject areas (e.g. chemistry, biology, engineering, etc.), and some are interdisciplinary databases or ones that search across multiple disciplines. The database you use depends on the topic or subject you have chosen and the type of information you need to access. Here are the principal databases for exploring the science and engineering journal literature, and there may be additional databases found on the subject guides.
Multidisciplinary Databases - Good places to start if you're not sure which databases to try
Web of Science
Indexes 12,000+ journals in all subjects, with heavy science and engineering coverage. For each record, you can view what the authors cited, who has since cited the article, and look for related articles based on common citations.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals, with full-text is available for over 5300 journals. Indexes popular and scholarly sources, but you can limit results to scholarly journals.
A better alternative to searching Google because it searches the scholarly literature rather than "everything." Very limited tools for refining searches, but you can go into the advanced search to limit a word or phrase be found in the title only. Indexes at the full text article level, so it can be helpful for interdisciplinary topics.
Covers journals and conference proceedings in many engineering disciplines: mechanical, chemical, structural, ocean, aerospace engineering as well as nanotechnology and materials science. Some electrical and control engineering.
Indexes journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering, and computer science.
Core index to the biomedical literature, indexing 5,500 journals in the biomedical/health sciences and related disciplines (including biochemistry, biomaterials, biomedical engineering, etc).
Comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including many engineering disciplines, physics, environmental and biomedical sciences. Search articles, substances, and reactions. *Registration Required*
Indexes the biological literature (genetics, microbiology, zoology, etc) as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology
The major index to mathematical literature for articles, books, and edited book chapters.
Astrophysics Data System
Indexes journals and conference papers in astronomy, with additional coverage of physics and astrophysics
Full-text access to IEEE & IEE/IET computer science and electrical engineering transactions, journals, magazines & conference proceedings, standards, and ebooks.
Indexes the education literature, covering thousands of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Many of the non-journal documents (accession numbers beginning with ED) are available full-text.
Chemical database of structures, reactions, physical & chemical property data (w/ literature citations). Not as strong for topic searching, but an essential complement to SciFinder for substance and reaction searching.
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA)
This database covers over 600 journals, as well as books & conference proceedings, on meteorology, climatology, air pollution, astrophysics, atmospheric chemistry & physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and weather forecasting, from 1950s to present.
ACM Digital Library
Full text searching and access to journals and proceedings from the Association for Computing Machinery
Pre-prints of articles in physics (including astrophysics) mathematics, and computer science
Bonus search tip: Google Scholar is a useful tool because it searches within the full text of articles. It's most useful when your topic is so narrow that you don't find much using the subject-specific databases. But it lacks some of the features to refine search results.
How Do I Get the Article?
In most of our databases, you'll see this button next to each reference: . Clicking this button may open up the article automatically, or you will see options to get the article:
- Online, if available
- In print
- Request the article if we don't have it.
SciFinder has its own Get Full-Text link option that will bring up the UC-eLinks menu.