Skip to main content

English-Language Literature: Library Resources: Book Reviews

This page lists sources that cover multiple periods, genres, and/or nationalities. See additional resources in the "Historical Literary Period" and "Geographical Region" pages.

Reviews of Fiction, Poetry, & General Interest Nonfiction

Academic Search Complete is an index to articles in a large number of general interest and scholarly journals. Under the "Limit Your Search" portion of the search page, change "Document Type" to "book review."

ONLINE NEWSPAPER REVIEWS

Book reviews are included in all major newspapers, so you may search in the separate online indexes the Library provides for The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal) and to thousands of reviews in hundreds of additional newspapers in the LexisNexis Academic database.

Click here for a guide to current newspapers and other news sources available in the UCSD Library and here for full-text databases of historical U.S. newspapers.

PRINTED INDEXES & BIBLIOGRAPHIES OF BOOK REVIEWS

An Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities. Williamston,  Mich.: P. Thomson, 1960-1990. 31 vols.  Geisel Indexes, 1 East,             Z 1035 .A1 I5

A Comprehensive Index to English-Language Little Magazines, 1890-1970. Compiled by Marion Sader. Millwood, NY: Kraus-Thomson Org., 1976. 8 volumes. Geisel Reference PN 4888 .L55 C6 

Marks, Patricia. American Literary and Drama Reviews: An Index to Late Nineteenth Century Periodicals. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1984. Geisel Reference PN 2259 .M37 1984  

Reviews of Scholarly Books

Many aggregated full-text journal databases, such as the advanced search screen in JSTOR, allow you to limit your search to reviews. (See the "Narrow By" boxes at the left of the screen.) Remember that the MLA International Bibliography does NOT index book reviews from the journals it indexes. Book reviews ARE indexed in ABELL.

Choice Reviews Online. Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is an important source for short reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education, published faster than the typical longer review in scholarly journals. It is published by the Association of College & Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974. Woodbridge, Ct.: Research Publications, 1982-84. 10 volumes. Reviews from about 150 journals in philosophy, classics, linguistics, music, folklore, and literary journals, mostly published in the U.S. and U.K. Geisel Indexes, 1 East, Z 1035 .A1 C638 1982

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974. Arlington, Va.: Carrollton Press, 1979-1982. 15 volumes. Includes some additional reviews relevant to the literary scholar, but most of the journals indexed here were in 459 journals from history, political science, and sociology. Geisel Indexes, 1 East, Z 1035 .A35 C64

C.R.I.S.: Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974.  Washington: Carrollton Press, 1977-      . 10 volumes. Geisel Indexes, 1 East, D 1 .C18

An Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities. 31 volumes, covering the years 1960-1990. Coverage is strongest in the fields of literature, language, philosophy, folklore, and the arts. Geisel Indexes, 1 East, Z 1035 .A1 I5

Index to Reviews of Bibliographical Publications. This index covered only 10 years (1976-1985), but did an excellent job of highlighting scholarly in the field of general bibliography (textual editing and criticism, publishing and printing history, book arts, manuscript study. UCSD only has first 3 volumes (at SRLF), but full sets are available at Riverside, Berkeley, and UCLA.