Skip to main content

English-Language Literature: Library Resources: Africa

This page lists sources that cover multiple periods, genres, and/or nationalities. See additional resources in the "Historical Literary Period" and "Geographical Region" pages.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Companions, Biographical Information

African Literature and Its Times. Ed. Joyce Moss and Lorraine Valestuk. Detroit: Gale Group, 2000. Geisel stacks PL 8010 .M65 2000

African Writers. Ed. C. Brian Cox. NY: Scribner's, 1997. 2 vols. Available as part of Literature Resource Center.

The Cambridge Companion to the African Novel. Ed. F. Abiola Irele. NY: Cambridge UP, 2009. Print volume also available in Giesel stacks.

Columbia Guide to Central African Literature in English Since 1945. By Adrian A. Roscoe. NY: Columbia UP, 2008. Geisel Reference PR 9390.5 .R59 2008

Columbia Guide to East African Literature in English Since 1945. By Simon Gikandi and Evan Mwangi. NY: Columbia UP, 2007. Geisel stacks PR 9304 .G55 2007

Columbia Guide to South African Literature in English Since 1945. By Gareth Cornwell, Dirk Klopper, and Craig MacKenzie. NY: Columbia UP, 2010. Geisel stacks PR 9350.2 .C67 2010

Columbia Guide to West African Liteature in English Since 1945. By Oyekan Owomoyela. NY: Columbia UP, 2008. Geisel Reference PR 9340.5 .O96 2008

The Companion to African Literatures. Ed. Douglas Killam and Ruth Rowe. Bloomington: Indiana UP, 2000. Geisel Reference PR 9340 .C65 2000

Contemporary African Writers. Full texts available in Literature Online (LiON).

Encyclopedia of African Literature. Ed. Simon Gikandi. NY: Routledge, 2003. Geisel Reference PL 8010 .E63 2003

Herdeck, Donald E. African Authors: A Companion to Black African Writing, 1300-1973. Washington DC: Black Orpheus Press, 1973. Geisel stacks PL 8010 .H38

 

Guide to Research

Christenberry, H. Faye, Angela Courtney, Liorah Golomb, and Melissa S. Vasn Vuuren. Literary Research and Postcolonial Literatures in English: Strategies and Sources. (Literary Research: Strategies and Sources, no. 11). Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2012. Geisel stacks PN 73 .C47 2012

Bibliographies of Secondary Sources

Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature. Nairobi: Library of Congress Overseas Office, 2002-        . Indexes over 300 periodicals from 29 countries, although indexing has ceased since Sept. 2011 due to lack of funding from Congress.

Lindfors, Bernth. Black African Literature in English: A Guide to Information Sources. Detroit: Gale Research, 1979. Supplemented by: Black African Literature in English, 1977-1981 (NY: Africana, 1986), Black African Literature in English 1982-1986 (London: Zell, 1989), Black African Literature in English, 1987-1995, Black African Literature in English, 1992-1996 (Zell-Currey, 2000), and Black African Literautre in English 1997-1999 (Zell-Currey 2003). Reference PR 9340 .L55/L56/L562/L573/L58

Page, James A. and Jae Min Roh. Selected Black American, African, and Caribbean Writers: A Bio-Bibliography. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1985.

 

Bibliographies & Indexes of Primary Sources

 Limb, Peter and Jean-Marie Volet. Bibliography of African Literatures. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1996. Geisel Reference PN 849 .A35 A38 1996

Full Text Collections

African Writers Series. Over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama, and non-fiction prose, originally published in paper by Heinemann beginning in 1962.

Black Drama. Not restricted to African writers, but includes many.

Empire Online. Documents from over two dozen research libraries on the building of the British empire and the reactions, descriptions, and opinions that resulted from it.