Skip to main content
For the most thorough retrievals of relevant literature, be sure to search several of the article databases cited below. JSTOR, Historical Abstracts, and HAPI form a strong initial trio for Latin American history. The searchable open access repositories Dialnet, Redalyc, and SciELO contain numerous history journals from Spain and Latin America not covered elsewhere.
FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
CLASE / PERIODICA
CLASE Indexes articles published in over 1200 Latin American journals in the social sciences and humanities. Its companion PERIODICA covers over 1400 Latin American journals in science and technology. The merged database has over 400,00 citations dating back to 1975.
Carries over 1100 open access e-journals, primarily written and published in the Spanish language. Dialnet is produced and hosted by the Universidad de La Rioja in Spain.
Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
International index to journal articles published from 1984 to present in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature, economics.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2000 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included.
Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, with searchable issues of over 900 academic journals containing more than 350,000 articles.
Scientific Electronic Library Online, covering over 500,000 articles from 1100 academic journals published in Latin America.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.