Skip to main content
U.S. Policy towards China
Congressional-Executive Commission on China
The Congressional-Executive Commission on China was created by Congress in October 2000 with the legislative mandate to monitor human rights and the development of the rule of law in China, and to submit an annual report to the President and the Congress. The Commission consists of nine Senators, nine Members of the House of Representatives, and five senior Administration officials appointed by the President.
U.S. Department of State - China
Includes factsheets, remarks, press releases, and some reports.
International & General Policy Research Tools
There are a number of quality resources to search for public policy information including articles, reports, white papers, and government documents.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1915-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, and law. Global, multilingual scope.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes full text access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.(For full text of most historic reports and documents, try the U.S. Congressional Serial Set via Readex.)
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. (1817-1980)
Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; World Constitutions Illustrated. Includes additional databases: National Survey of State Laws; Religion and the Law; Subject Compilations of State Laws; Women and the Law (Peggy); World Treaty Library
Presents online versions of major U.S. government publications, such as: the Congressional Record, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, executive branch documents and more.
Digital Public Library of America
Access thousands of videos from libraries, archives, and museums. To limit to video formats, do a keyword search for topic of interest and then select the "moving images" filter on the results page.
Center for Security Studies: Resources
Formerly ISN. A one-stop information service in the fields of international relations and security. Among the services offered are: an annotated links library, a limited area search tool (ISN LASE), and a selection of resources on current world affairs.
PolicyArchive is a comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 17,000 documents, from about 500 organizations.
Stateline is a nonpartisan, nonprofit news service of the Pew Center on the States. Since 1999, it has reported and analyzed trends in state policy.
State Data Lab
State Data Lab is a project of Truth in Accounting (TIA), whose non-partisan mission is to compel governments to produce financial reports that are understandable, reliable, transparent and correct. The site contains state financial data and external demographic and economic data, along with tools ranging from graphs to regression, ranking and compound growth analysis.
Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC)
Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank. We are dedicated to informing and improving public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research.
ProPublica Data Store
ProPublica is an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest. The ProPublica Data Store provides access to the data behind the reporting.
TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium
TRAC provides detailed profiles of terrorist groups and vulnerable regions. Also includes articles on ideologies, targets, tactics, and current chatter. For more information, click the "How to Use"
link in the database
Digital National Security Archive
Nearly 40,000 declassified government documents from 1945 to present, organized into collections, each focused on a single topic.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Full text of documents from various government agencies: the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department and others, declassified by the U.S. government, and obtained from Presidential Libraries.
World Bank e-Library
The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of World Bank documents. The collection consists of World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.
OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Cooperation & Development's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to its analysis and data. Coverage includes development, economics, education, energy, environment, scitech, social issues, and more.
United Nations Digital Library
Currently, the UNDL incorporates digital content, mainly official UN documents and selected UN maps, with metadata from UNBISnet for UN-produced materials, as well as speech and voting records. Additional collections of digital materials will be added as they are created or are made available to us by UN departments, offices, and agencies.
UNBISnet: United Nations Bibliographic Information System on the Internet
UNBIS is the primary bibliographic database of the United Nations. Established in 1979, it offers access to documents of the United Nations and to non-UN publications acquired by the Dag Hammarskj?ld Library in New York and the UN Library in Geneva.
Provides comprehensive access to International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) databases. Also provides access to the International Monetary Fund's recent publications, including periodicals, books, analytical papers, and statistical tools.
Roger: The UC San Diego Library Catalog
The Library collects many documents from IGOs and NGOs as well as government documents from the United States, the European Union, and some foreign governments. Search ROGER to find titles, locations, and call numbers.
Full Text Reports
A top-tier research professional's hand-picked selection of new online documents from academe, corporations, government agencies, interest groups, NGOs, professional societies, research institutes, think tanks, trade associations, and more.