Skip to main content
How do I get the article?
In most of our databases, you'll see this button next to each reference: .
Clicking the UC-eLinks button may open up the article automatically, or you will see options to get the article:
- Online, if available (usually displays automatically, if not use the "Get it Online from" section to link to article)
- In print ("Find a Copy" section links to Roger)
- Via interlibrary loan ("Request it" section) if we don't have the article.
Top Biology Databases for finding journal articles
Not sure where to start your search for authoritative journal articles? Try some of these resources, arranged in priority order. If you can't find what you're looking for, check out our Databases A-Z list, or contact me.
Resources with a lock mean that you need to have your off-campus computer configured for access.
BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and includes around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences. The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for all biological information, including marine biology, biological oceanography, marine ecology, developmental biology, and molecular biology. This is the preferred database to use over BIOSIS Previews because you can search for cited references.
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page
The Zoological Record database has extensive coverage of zoology from 1864-present. Indexes over 4,500 journals, books, conference papers, & selected dissertations in zoology, and includes a very good subject vocabulary and helpful taxonomic hierarchies.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Covers many of the journals available online via the UCSD Library. Lacks many advanced search features available in other databases listed above, but is very useful for finding articles when you have only partial information.