Skip to main content

HIUS 114: California History: Items Shown In Class

Guide to accompany presentations by Heather Smedberg (January 8) and Harold Colson (January 22).

List of items used for the in-class visit

ItemTitle ItemAuthor ItemDate Location CallNumber
A relation of the invasion and conquest of Florida by the Spaniards, under the command of Fernando de Soto   1686 Special Collections (Hill) E125.S7 R54 VLT
Autograph letter : Loreta Mission, Calif., to Father Juan de Ugarte, 1698 April 17 Salvatierra, Juan María de, 1698 Special Collections (Rare) F1246 .S16 1698 VLT
Carte nouvelle de la mer du Sud : dressée par ordre des principaux directeurs & tirée des memoires les plus recents et des relations des navigateurs les plus modernes, tant de France, que d'Espagne l'on ÿa joint, diverses remarques curieuses par raport au Leth, Andries de, [1740?] Special Collections (Rare MC) G3290 1740 .L4
King Philip V of Spain manuscript document : [Buen Retiro, Madrid], 1744 Dec. 17 Philip V, 1744 Special Collections (Rare) F1246 .P44 1744 VLT
A natural and civil history of California : containing an accurate description of that country, its soil, mountains, harbours, lakes, rivers, and seas; its animals, vegetables, minerals, and famous fishery for pearls : the customs of the inhabitants, thei Venegas, Miguel, 1759 Special Collections (Hill) F864 .V53 VLT
Travels of the Jesuits, into various parts of the world : particularly China and the East-Indies. ... Translated from the celebrated Lettres édifiantes & curieuses, ecrites des missions etrangeres, par les missionaires de la Compagnie de Jesus ... To whic Lockman, John, 1762 Special Collections (Hill) BV2290 .L63 1762
Plan de una compañia de accionistas para fomentar con actividad el beneficio de las ricas minas de Sonora y Cinaloa y restablecer la pesquería de perlas en el Golfo de Californias   [1771] Special Collections (Rare) HC134 .P57 1771 VLT
Voyage en Californie pour l'observation du passage de Vénus sur le disque du soleil, le 3 juin 1769 ; contenant les observations de ce phénomene, & la description historique de la route de l'auteur à travers le Mexique Chappe d'Auteroche, 1772 Special Collections (Hill) F1211 .C45
Estado que manifiesta el que tenian las misiones de la antigua California, 1776 Feb. 25   1776 Special Collections (Rare) F1246 .E87 1776
Arte de cocina, pasteleria, vizcocheria, y conserveria Martínez Montiño, Francisco, 1778 Special Collections (AIWF) TX723.5.S7 M37 1778
Extracto del diario que ha hecho  / 1786 Pantoja y Arriaga, Juan, 1786 Special Collections (Hill) F1246 .P358 1786 VLT
An historical journal of the expeditions : by sea and land, to the north of California; in 1768, 1769, and 1770; when Spanish establishments were first made at San-Diego and Monte-Rey Costansó, Miguel 1790 Special Collections (Hill) F864 .C813 1790 VLT
Relación del descubrimiento que se hizo en la Mar del Sur, desde el Puerto de Acapulco, hasta mas adelante del Cabo Mendocino : [1790] Ascensión, Antonio de la, 1790 Special Collections (Hill) F864 .A56 1790 VLT
Testimonio ... sobre pago de sinodos de los padres misioneros de Santo Domingo de la antigua California ..., 1795 Aug. 26   1795 Special Collections (Rare Fol) F1246 .T47 1795
A voyage of discovery to the North Pacific Ocean : and round the world; in which the coast of north-west America has been carefully examined and accurately surveyed Vancouver, George, 1798 Special Collections (Hill) G420 .V22 VLT
A voyage round the world : performed in the years 1785, 1786, 1787, 1788, by M. de la Peyrouse La Pérouse, Jean-François de Galaup, 1801 Special Collections (Hill) G420 .L22 1801
Relación del viage hecho por las goletas Sutil y Mexicana en el año de 1792 para reconocer el Estrecho de Fuca : con una introducción en que se da noticia de las expediciones executadas anteriormente por los españoles en busca del paso del noroeste d   1802 Special Collections (Hill) F851.5 .E77 1802 VLT  Atlas
California missions register, 1817 Apr. 24   1817 Special Collections MSS 195
Memória que en cumplimiento del artículo 120 de la Constitución Federal de los Estados-Unidos Mexicanos : Leyó el Secretario de Estado y del despacho universal de Justicia y Negocios Eclesiásticos, en la Cámara de diputados el dia 3 y en la de senadores e Mexico. Ministerio de Justicia y Negocios Eclesiásticos 1826 Special Collections (Rare Fol) KGF3156.A64 M4 1826
Carte réduite des côtes et du golfe de Californie : depuis le Cap Corrientes jusqu'au Port St. Diego, d'après des observations faites à bord des corvettes la Descubierta et l'Atrevida et celles de plusieurs officiers de la Marine Espagnole, Madrid, 1825   1826 Special Collections (Rare MC) G4475 1826 .B42
Colección de los principales trabajos en que se ha ocupado la Junta nombrada para meditar y proponer al supremo gobierno los medios más necesarios para promover el progreso de la cultura y civilización de los territorios de la Alta y de la Baja California México. Junta de Fomento de Californias 1827 Special Collections (Rare) F864 .M55 1827 VLT
El Exmo. Sr. presidente de los Estados-Unidos Mexicanos se ha servido dirigirme el decreto que sigue ... : se faculta al gobierno para que tome todas las providencias que aseguren la colonizacion, y hagan efectiva la secularizacion de las misiones de la A Santa Anna, Antonio López de, [1833] Special Collections (Rare) F864 .S33 1833
Breve noticia que da al Supremo Gobierno del actual estado del territorio de la Alta California : y medios que propone para la ilustracion y comercio en aquel país el guardian del Colegio Apostólico de San Fernando de México, año de 1833 Guzmán, José María, Mexican 1833 Special Collections (Good) F864 .G98 VLT
El Exmo. Sr. Presidente interino de la República Mexicana, se ha servido dirigirme el decreto que sigue ... : Los diputados de la Alta y Baja California tendrán voz y voto en el actual Congreso, en la formacion de leyes y decretos ... mando se imprima ... Mexico [1835] Special Collections (Rare) KGF3075 .A28 1835
Map of the Californias Farnham, Thomas Jefferson, [1845?] Special Collections (Rare MC) G4300 1845 .F37
Padrón de los individos de esta Juridicio de San Diego de edad de quince a sesenta anos, 1845 Sept. 19   1845 Special Collections (Rare Fol) F869.S22 P34 1845
[Autograph letter written on board the whaling bark J.E. Donnell] Hussey, W.A 1846 Special Collections (Rare Fol) F856 .H87 1846
Documents, 1846 San Diego (Calif.). Mayor 1846 Special Collections MSS 197
Sketch of Port Escondido, Lower California   [1847] Special Collections (Rare) G4414.P67 1847 .S5
Alta California : embracing notices of the climate, soil, and agricultural products of northern Mexico and the Pacific seaboard; also, a history of the military and naval operations of the United States directed against the territories of northern Mexico,   1847 Special Collections (Rare) E404 .A38 1847
Contestaciones habidas entre el supremo gobierno mexicano, el general en gefe del ejército americano, y el comisionado de los Estados-Unidos Mexico 1847 Special Collections (Rare) E408 .M61 1847
Original grant of town lot no. forty three, 1847 Feb. 3   1847 Special Collections (Good) F865 .O68 1847 VLT
Looking across the Plaza from Clay & Benham Place, 1849 Coit, Daniel Wadsworth, [1849] Special Collections (Good) F869.S3 C75 1849 VLT
Narrative of a 49-er--and incidents of travel from New York to San Francisco : 1849-1888 Smith, William C. S., 1849 Special Collections (Hill) F865 .S7 1849 VLT
Constitution of the State of California California 1849 Special Collections (Good) KFC680 1849 .A32 VLT
Articles of agreement, July 28, 1849   1849 Special Collections (Good) F865 .A78 1849 VLT
Journey to the gold diggins : by Jeremiah Saddlebags. Illustrated by J. A. & D. F. Read Read, J. A. (James Alexander) 1849 Special Collections (Good) F865 .R44 1849 VLT
Notes by the camp fire : being a narrative of an overland journey from the United States to California in the year, 1849 Sniffen, George F 1849 Special Collections (Good) F865 .S72 1849 VLT
[Sketches of mining life in California]   [ca. 1849?] Special Collections (Good) F865 .S64 1849
Placer times   1849-1850 Special Collections (Good Fol) F864 .P63
The Boston medical and surgical journal.   [1849-1850] Special Collections (Good) F865 .B67 1849
[San Diego letters to the Tribune], 1850   1850 Special Collections (Good Fol) F865 .S26 1850
Mines d'or de la Californie   1850 Special Collections (Good Fol) F865 .M56 1850
Trinidad herald, April, 1852   1852 Special Collections (Good) F866 .T75 1852 VLT
Letters to Mrs. H.W. Tucker and to Mr. and Mrs. Seth Low : 27 June-16 October 1852 Low, Sarah Marie 1852 Special Collections MSS 172 (FB-227-08)