Skip to main content
US Food and Drug Administration
All sources can be reached from the home page at http://www.fda.gov/
This section has information on the regulatory history of approved drugs. Most newer drugs contain documents that summarize the FDA’s reviews of new drug applications (NDAs). This information is not available elsewhere and contains information from unpublished studies by the manufacturer. Often links to the package insert are available. A more easily accessible database of package inserts (including older archived versions) is available at the National Library of Medicine’s DailyMed: http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/about.cfm
This source provides the FDA’s definitive bioequivalency classifications of generic drugs and which ones can be substituted for others. Search by generic name for the most complete listing of drug products. Generic names are specific for each salt form of the drug.
MedWatch is the main medication safety section of the FDA’s website. All warnings that have been issued on drugs’ adverse reactions and recalls are archived at this site. Much of this information is not available elsewhere.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
All sources can be reached from the home page at http://www.cdc.gov/
Vaccines & Immunizations
This page has links to a wealth of the best information on vaccines anywhere. Vaccine statements for the lay public (vaccine information statements) and for health professionals (ACIP Recommendation at http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/index.html ) are available. You can also download the latest immunization schedules and information on immunization for travelers here. Extensive information for travelers can also be found at http://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/ .
DailyMed (Mobile version available)
This is a free database of current and archived package inserts compiled by the National Library of Medicine in conjunction with the FDA. It also has links to several other databases that provide information on the chemistry of the drug (Drug Bank), current clinical trials involving the drug (ClinicalTrials.gov), consumer information (MedlinePlus) and use during breastfeeding (LactMed).
Drug Information Portal
The portal collects information from PubChem, Toxnet, HSDB, and more. Search by name or category.
LactMed, part of the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®), is a database of drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives are provided to those drugs where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. Data are organized into substance-specific records, which provide a summary of the pertinent reported information.
This free database provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.
A resource from the National Library of Medicine and the Food and Drug Administration. Identify unknown solid-dosage medications (tablets/capsules) based on physical characteristics with high-resolution images.