Skip to main content
International Newspaper Databases
ABYZ News Links
one of the best directories of print and broadcast media with a presence on the Internet. But there are no common standards about whether news will be archived and, if it is archived, how completely, for how long and whether it will be free. Licensed databases, paid for by the library, are stable and the years of coverage are made clear.
Access World News
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
1941-1996. Translations by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television. Scanned from print Daily Report issues covering areas such as China, East Asia, Latin America.
Keesing's World News Archive
1931-present. More than 75 years of international news reports, with summaries of political, economic and social events. Search by subject or browse by country. UCSD users ignore logon prompt.
Lexis Nexis Academic
LNA contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. Successor product Nexis Uni
Selected Western European News and Newspapers
This page provides links to some major online news sources in Western Europe. It is not intended to be exhaustive and links to other meta news sites are included. Maintained by experts at the American Library Association
World News Connection
1994-2013. Translations and summaries by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television broadcasts, and nonclassified technical reports. Successor to FBIS.