Personal Finance: Money Smart Week & Financial Literacy Month: Books

This book offers advice for millennials and their parents on how to succeed in the years post college graduation. Co-written by a millennial, and based on the author's sixty-plus years of experience in finance, the collective advice is full of data, current research, anecdotes, and suggestions regarding mentors, continuing education, internships, careers, starter jobs, setting financial goals, budgeting, and money matters concerning marriage. It offers concrete advice to help millennials and the generation coming up behind them excel in their futures.

Boost your financial health so you're ready for any economic or personal upheaval. Crisis is inevitable--but it doesn't have to torpedo your finances! This book contains the historical perspective and up-to-date info you'll need to anticipate, understand, and navigate a wide range of personal financial challenges.

It can seem impossible to find a way out of debt--and the more complicated the proposed solution, the harder it is to stick with it. The plan is clear and easy. With straightforward daily spending strategies and effortless expense tracking tools, you'll learn how to downsize expenses without feeling deprived, allocate money as it comes in, put together an easy-to-manage bill-paying plan, adjust for inevitable overspending, pay off debt without gouging expenses, and (believe it or not) start saving.

"Cagan makes the case that a budget isn't a buzz killer. It's financial salvation." --The Washington Post. Don't break the bank--learn to create and stick to a budget with this comprehensive, easy-to-understand guide to saving money sensibly. Sometimes, it can seem like saving money is impossible. This clear and simple guide provides tons of practical advice for keeping track of your finances. With useful tips on setting financial goals, reducing debt, finding ways to save money, and creating and following a budget plan, you'll have your dollars and cents under control in no time.

27-year-old personal finance expert Erin Lowry is the cash-savvy friend every 20- and 30-something needs. Instead of complicated 401k strategies and jargon-filled debt advice, her hilarious, easy-to-understand guide is the perfect way for financial management newbies to get their money in order or elevate their personal finance know-how.

Money affects every part of our lives. Simply by sorting out your personal finances, you can build a foundation from which you'll be able to find the right career path, visualize your desired lifestyle, and turn your dreams into a reality. In his debut book, Roger Ma, an award-winning financial planner and a publisher strategist at Google, offers secrets on how you can craft a meaningful career, gain financial comfort, and achieve a greater sense of purpose.

Want to go deeper? This book promotes personal financial planning (PFP) as a profession by taking a comprehensive and integrated approach to PFP for accounting students, allowing them to view the profession through the lens of a CPA while introducing the essentials of all the major PFP topics (estate, retirement, investments, insurance, and tax) and more, such as professional ethics, standards and certifications.

Financial literacy and financial education are not new topics, even though interest in these topics among policymakers, financial authorities, and academics continues to grow. This handbook provides a comprehensive reference work that addresses both research perspectives and practical applications to financial education. This volume is an indispensable reference for scholars who are new to the topic, including undergraduate and graduate students, and for experienced researchers who wish to enrich their knowledge, policymakers seeking a broader understanding and an international perspective, and practitioners who seek knowledge of best practices as well as innovative approaches.

This book acts as an introduction to data analysis applied to finance, using R and its most recent and freely available extension libraries. The audience is undergrad students with a major in data science and/or finance and graduate students, or any interested others who need a desk reference. It assumes no prior knowledge of R. It also gives detailed explanations on how to use the most recent and free resources, such as financial and statistics libraries or open database on the internet.

The first book in a series about the psychology of money is by Dr. Christopher Bayer, the Wall Street Psychologist. Informed by more than 30 years of research in the areas of economics/finance and psychology, Dr. Bayer explores the history of our relationship with money-specifically the role morality, and the concept of "virtue," has played in that history, and the wealth versus money dichotomy. It draws readers to examine past- and present-day corruptions derived from money's influence and compels them to examine concepts and theories from great economists of yore (e.g., Adam Smith, Karl Marx, and J.M. Keynes) to create a theoretical foundation for what the author calls a Gyroscope methodology. As a foundational tool in the series, this book invites readers to consider, for themselves, stories of mass mind-control perpetrated by marketing mavens who utilize (and perhaps manipulate) insights from behavioral psychology to generate rank materialism, manifested in ever-increasing consumption, palatable to the public.

This second book in a series about the psychology of money builds on the key concepts in the first volume, then covers topics in psychology, ethics and finance. The author details notorious examples from Wall Street and elsewhere. Readers examine contemporary examples of willful co-optation, misuse, and misinterpretation of old texts and ideas, run-of-the-mill corruption, and dangerous groupthink, as the author describes the personal and broad- scale financial troubles generated by reckless financial misunderstandings. Readers gain the understanding and tools they need to cultivate and maintain a core of character in order to weather any ethical storm. Volume III: Body and Mind-The Effects of Money Problems is also available in this series.

In response to the growing interest and fascination about the crypto industry and cryptocurrency in general, this book brings together many leading worldwide contributors to discuss a broad range of issues associated with cryptocurrency. The book covers a wide array of crypto-related topics, like blockchain, NFTs, consumer confidence, crypto crime, as well as Bitcoin and other currencies.

Deal with data, build up financial formulas in code from scratch, and evaluate and think about money in your day-to-day life. This book is about Python and personal finance and how you can effectively mix the two together. You will learn Python and finance at the same time by creating a profit calculator, a currency converter, an amortization schedule, a budget, a portfolio rebalancer, and a purchase forecaster. Many of the examples use pandas, the main data manipulation tool in Python. Each chapter is hands-on, self-contained, and motivated by fun and interesting examples. This book is geared towards those who want to manage their money more effectively and to those who just want to learn or improve their Python.

John Hope Bryant, founder and CEO of Operation HOPE, describes his personal experience of rising up from economically disadvantaged circumstances and his work with Operation HOPE, giving readers five rules that could lay the foundation for achieving financial freedom. He emphasizes the inseparable connection between "inner capital" (mindset, relationships, knowledge, and spirit) and "outer capital" (financial wealth and property) and emphasizes entrepeneurship.

This book teaches behavioral finance to consumers, savers, investors, and managers - corporate managers, money managers, financial advisers, and all other financial professionals and it teaches financial facts and human behavior, including making cognitive and emotional shortcuts and avoiding cognitive and emotional errors such as overconfidence, hindsight, exaggerated fear, and unrealistic hope.

A deeply insightful guide to goal-based financial planning and wealth management. This book empowers readers to take control of their money and manage their income to achieve their financial goals. Written by the father of fee-only financial planning, this book features real-life stories and examples from over three decades in the industry to illustrate how financial planning works and the best way to create your strategy. You'll learn how to identify and prioritize your goals, and how to get where you need to be for retirement, education, home ownership, and more.

Investing for a Lifetime is designed to make saving and investing understandable to the investor. Wharton Professor Richard C. Marston, 2014 recipient of the Investment Management Consultants Association's  prestigious Matthew R. McArthur Award,  guides an investor through the main investment decisions throughout a lifetime. 

An advisor to many of today's most successful wealth creators explains how to align your values with your wealth, including the ways in which it is earned, managed, and spent, to maximize both wealth and personal fulfillment. This book explores money emotional intelligence, roadblocks around money and relationships, kids and money, generosity, identity, and aligning your values with your money. The Wealth Creator's Playbook is the go-to guide for individuals who are chasing financial success and the richness of a deeply fulfilling life.

The meaning of wealth has become one of the least understood concepts of our time. Whether you desire wealth, have wealth, or wish to redistribute wealth, the roadmaps to success have been painted over by outdated financial models, politically charged rhetoric, and the mistaken belief that at its core wealth is simply a number. This book meets you where you are: a new college graduate, a retiring CEO, a journeyman carpenter, or a compassionate philanthropist. It educates its readers with a deeper understanding of their place on the national and global scales of wealth and proves that the term "wealthy" can apply as fittingly to a gas station attendant as it does to a gas company president. It empowers the reader with the causes and effects that allow wealth to accumulate, to produce income, and to re-shape society through responsible gifting and philanthropy. This book provides solutions for the active, passive, small, and large investor arming the reader with the causes that lead to the effect of success.

Take charge of your finances with little-known advice from a financial expert, Dan Gallagher, who provides information that will help readers set the stage for financial security for themselves and their families. The book is intended to be useful for new savers up to mid-retirees by empowering its readers to take charge of their financial present and future, regardless of where they are financially, by presenting technical jargon in a way that's easy to understand. Gallagher shares what you can do yourself and when you need a pro's help, and writes for DIYers and those needing to select or understand advisors. Overarching topics include: Cash & Budget Planning, Insurance & Risk Management, Tax Management, Retirement Planning, Investment Planning, and Estate Planning. Contains 30 dramatic true stores of client triumphs and tragedies. The author’s unbiased perspective is neither insurance nor investment skewed, and provides industry secrets.

Founder of popular website Get Your Shit Together blends personal story and must-have advice in the ultimate guide to getting your affairs in order--from wills and advance directives to insurance, finances, and relationships--before the unthinkable happens. Authoritative yet personal, grounded but irreverent, Reynolds' voice carries readers through a tough subject with candor and compassion. Weaving personal story with hard-won wisdom, What Matters Most is the approachable, no-nonsense handbook we all need to living a life free of worry and "what ifs."

The objective of this book is to prompt a re-examination of financial literacy, its social foundations, and its relationship to citizenship education. This volume offers readers opportunities to learn about different views of financial literacy from a variety of sociological, historical and cultural perspectives. Each chapter covers a distinctive topic and includes a response from an alternative view, which offers contrasting visions about the nature and purpose of financial education. The work invites researchers and practitioners to reconsider financial literacy/financial education and its social foundations.

This book presents selected papers on the factors that serve to influence an individual's capacity in financial decision-making. Initial chapters provide an overview of the cognitive factors affecting financial decisions and suggest a link between limited cognitive capacity and the need for financial education. The book then expands on these cognitive limitations to explore the tendency for overconfidence indecision-making and the interplay between rational and irrational factors. Later contributions show how credit card companies benefit from limitations in consumer financial literacy, how gender and cognition intersect to play an important role in financial decision-making, and how to improve financial capacity through financial literacy and education campaigns, including those addressing developed marketplaces.

This award-winning book provides readers with a comprehensive understanding and overviews of recent research in the areas of behavioral finance and investor decision making. Blending contributions from noted academics and experienced practitioners, this 30-chapter book includes how to understand investor behavior, a framework for interpreting financial market activity, and an in-depth introduction to the field of investment research. Coverage includes a thorough grounding in the principles of investor psychology, risk perception, asset allocation, evidence-based financial planning, neurofinance, socially responsible investing, and a variety of financial instruments. Emphasis is on the research underpinnings of the conceptual frameworks. The book is intended for academics, investors, and students.

This guide provides a robust review of the core topics comprising personal finance, including the primary models, approaches, and methodologies being used to study particular topics that comprise the field of personal finance today. This handbook is intended to be a core reference work for researchers, financial service practitioners, educators, and policymakers and an excellent supplementary source of readings for those teaching undergraduate and graduate-level courses in personal finance, financial planning, consumer studies, and household finance.