Skip to main content
Off Campus Access
Most of our e-journals and databases are restricted so that only current UCSD faculty, staff, and students can use them from off-campus. Visit the Library's Remote Access page for directions on using the proxy or VPN from off campus.
Journal of San Diego History
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations & Theses
Database of citations to doctoral dissertations & master's theses, from 1861-present. Abstracts are included for dissertations 1980-present and theses 1988-present. Full-text of most UC dissertations published since 1996 is also included.
You can use Interlibrary Loan
to request the full text of dissertations not available in this database.
Best Bet Article Databases
These databases are likely the best places to begin research of scholarly articles. The library subscribes to many more databases, which you can find by reviewing individual subject guides; most guides will have an "articles" or "journals" tab, which will get you to a list of databases relevant to that subject. There's also an alphabetical list of all databases we subscribe to, which is the quickest way to get to a database if you know what it's called.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary article database. Because it's the largest article database, it's often a good place to begin your research.
America History and Life
Indexes & abstracts from many local history journals, including Journal of San Diego History and Southern California Quarterly.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to business.
Criminology: A SAGE Full-text Collection
Includes full-text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals go back 20 years. Subjects covered: Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency & Justice, Corrections, Policing, Forensic Psychology, Family & Domestic Violence.
1969-present. Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics.
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Easy way to search across thousands of scholarly journals and websites for citations and articles. At UCSD (or through the proxy/VPN), you will see UC-eLinks - use this to check if we have the items you find.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Together with the archive
, covers 1915 - present. Indexes articles, books, government publications and more on wide ranging public policy issues.
Search across a number of social science journals, or select subject-specific (e.g. urban studies) titles.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social work, violence and many others.
1952 - present. Indexes articles, conference proceedings, books and more. Subjects covered include: Social structure, inequality, social change, social problems, demography & urban sociology.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Indexes articles in Urban Studies & related disciplines from 1973-present.
Web of Science
1956-present. Includes Social Science Citation Index database. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching to the leading social sciences journals.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.