Skip to main content
Census & California Statistical Resources
Additional help with Census data is available on the Census Research Guide.
Demographic statistics collected by the Census Department, including: American Community Survey and Decennial Census; American Housing Survey; Annual Surveys of Governments; Census of Governments; Annual Economic Surveys; Economic Census.
California Department of Finance
Data and statistical reports on California population, demography, finance and economics.
California Local Government Finance Almanac
Data, statistics, analyses, and articles on California city and county finance from the League of California Cities
California Statistical Abstract
Compilation of data on social, economic, and physical aspects of the state. Issues for 2000-2008 are available online; issues for 1958-2004 are available in print
Includes links to data sets, covering a variety of topics, from state agencies and additional sources.
RAND State Statistics
Contains nearly 80 databases in the following categories: Business and economics; Community; Education; Energy and environment; Government finance; Health and socioeconomic; and Population and demographics.
SANDAG: demographics & other data
Current population, estimates, and forecasts for San Diego. Also offers some transportation and crime statistics for San Diego.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) data package. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
This resource presents data from the Census of Population and Housing and American Community Survey, in a user-friendly interface that allows the creation of maps and statistical tables. Includes data from 1790-present. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users; try again later if directed to the free version (which provides only the most recent data).
Additional Resources for Statistics & Aggregate Data
This page includes only a sample of the statistical resources available to you. You can find more resources on the Data and Statistics research guide.
Includes current and historical time series data on a wide variety of topics and allows customizable graphs, mapping and downloading of data. Includes data at county, state and country level.
DataFinder from the Population Reference Bureau
A database with hundreds of variables for the US and the world.
The MacroDataGuide is a tool that has been especially developed by the Norwegian Social Science Data Services to save researchers and students time and energy in their search for high quality social science macro data. While the main distinction is most often drawn between micro and macro data, the term 'meso data' is also sometimes used. Meso data generally refers to data on collective and cooperative actors such as commercial companies, organizations or political parties.
ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World
A collection of the statistical abstracts of various countries, both individually searchable and cross searchable. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms are also included.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
1973-present. Huge database of citations to statistical publications from U.S. federal and state governments, international agencies, nonprofit and educational institutions, and private publishers including trade and industry groups. Full text of the publication or report is often included, and many tables are downloadable in Excel. Particularly good for demographic and country-level information. Previous name Statistical Universe.
Access the most relevant and important statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.
"Your source for data & statistics - graphs, charts and tables." Like Google for numeric data.