Skip to main content

Clarion Workshop Archives: Requesting and Using the Archives

Requesting the Clarion Archives

The Clarion Archives are stored offsite, so please register and request your boxes at least 24 hours before you plan to visit. You will receive an email when your boxes are ready. You will use the archives in our reading room. Laptops and tablets are welcome!

When you arrive, bring a photo ID to complete the registration process. Copying from the Clarion Archives may not be possible due to rights issues, so be prepared to take notes.

Special Collections & Archives is located on the main floor of Geisel Library

Summer Hours:  M-F, 9-5

Questions? Email us at spcoll@ucsd.edu

Special Collections Reading Room

About Special Collections

Using Special Collections & Archives - Beyond the Clarion Archives

Special Collections & Archives focuses on building its collections in concert with UCSD’s academic programs to build comprehensive research collections around specific subjects. Areas of exceptional strength include:

  • Early voyages of exploration and discovery to the Pacific prior to 1850
  • Scientific endeavors in marine sciences, post-1850
  • Spanish Civil War - the largest extant collection on the subject
  • Post-1945 American poetry in the "alternative" tradition, including extensive collections of poets' manuscripts and correspondence
  • History of San Diego, southern California, and Baja California
  • Contemporary science and public policy, including the personal archives of some of the nation's most renowned scientists
  • Culinary history of Mexico, Latin America, and the Pacific Rim
  • Melanesian anthropology
  • The UCSD Archives document the history of the campus

All SC&A materials are cataloged in Roger and finding aids for manuscript collections are available on our website, along with our policies and more information about our collections: http://libraries.ucsd.edu/collections/sca/

Digitization has made many of UCSD’s special collections more widely accessible. Search or browse the digital library collections here: https://libraries.ucsd.edu/digital/

Summer Hours:  Monday-Friday, 9-5
Questions? Email us at spcoll@ucsd.edu

Questions?

Heather Smedberg's picture
Heather Smedberg
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives

Geisel Library Building
858-246-0351
http://libraries.ucsd.edu/collections/sca/Tumblr:
Website / Blog Page