LibGuides: Physical Oceanography: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Encyclopedias

Use these specialized encyclopedias as authoritative sources for general information on topics in physical oceanography, and related sciences. They provide information that you can use to learn more about a new subject, find introductory material for your papers, or to help you find ideas for research topics.

Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography. For example, it includes authoritative information on ecology, ecosystems, fisheries, geology, geosciences, marine chemistry, and paleoceanography.
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science
This encyclopedia is part of the Encyclopedia of Earth Science Series. It contains comprehensive topical sections, an easy to use search interface, with coverage ranging from aquaculture, atolls, beach erosion, to tides and storm surges.
Treatise on Geochemistry
This is a comprehensive, 15 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as meteorites, planets, earth’s mantle, crust and core, surface & groundwater, marine geochemistry, sediments & sedimentary rocks, and organic geochemistry.
Treatise on Geophysics
This is a comprehensive, 11 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as earthquake seismology, mineral physics, geodesy, geomagnetism, crust, mantle and core dynamics, and evolution of the earth.

Handbooks

These are only a few of the handbooks that are available online for you to use as background or introductory texts. Use UC Library Search to find more handbooks on your topics.

Practical Handbook of Marine Science
This is the 4th edition of this reference book and the editors state that it "updates the field of marine science to meet the interdisciplinary research needs of physical oceanographers, marine biologists, marine chemists, and marine geologists. Adding many new sections in such areas as estuaries, macroalgae, food chains, system productivity, and coastal resource management.
Introduction to Geochemistry: Principles and Applications
This book emphasizes the quantitative aspects of geochemistry. There are 12 chapters divided into 4 parts: crystal chemistry, chemical reactions, isotope geochemistry, and the "Earth Supersystem", an overview of the origin and evolution of the solid Earth and atmosphere & hydrosphere.
Isotope Geology
This textbook provides a comprehensive introduction to both radiogenic and stable isotope techniques. Written by one of the world's most respected geochemists (Claude J. Allegre), this full color textbook will be invaluable for all undergraduate and graduate courses on the topic, and is an excellent reference text for scientists.