Skip to main content

Review Sources: Book Reviews

ABOUT BOOK REVIEWS

Book reviews, ranging from simple summaries to in-depth critical analyses and evaluations, provide useful information for readers and researchers. Read book reviews to:

  • Find out what others have said about the book
  • Identify controversies about the book
  • Find out how the book relates to other works
  • Find out what’s being published in your field of interest
  • Easily identify new books for future reading (or books to avoid!)

The databases listed below will help you find reviews published in scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. In general, search for book reviews in article databases using the “advanced search” mode and limit by publication type to “book review” or “review.”

SUBJECT DATABASES THAT INCLUDE BOOK REVIEWS

These are the best databases to start with for subject-specific book reviews. There may be others not listed here, so please speak with a librarian if you need additional suggestions. Off-campus access to all sources is limited to UCSD affiliates.


Arts: Art Source | Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals | International Index to the Performing Arts | RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Business: Business Source Complete

Communication: Communication & Mass Media Complete | Film & Television Literature Index

Economics: EconLit

Education: Education Source

Environmental Studies: Environment Complete

Ethnic Studies: Ethnic NewsWatch

Gender Studies: GenderWatch

History: America: History and Life | Historical Abstracts

Literature: ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature | Children's Literature Review | Literature Resource Center

Political Science: Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Psychology: PsycINFO

Religion & Philosophy: ATLA Religion Database | Philosophers Index

Sciences: Applied Science & Technology Full Text | BIOSIS Previews | MathSciNet

Social Sciences, General: SocINDEX with Full Text | Social Sciences Full Text

Sociology: Sociological Abstracts | Social Services Abstracts

Urban Studies: Urban Studies Abstracts