Skip to main content
Encyclopedias and dictionaries in Sociology
Blackwell Companion to Sociology
Essays by renowned sociologists cover both the traditions and strengths of the field and newer developments and directions. Authors from the US, the UK, Europe and elsewhere have contributed to this single volume reference book.
Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Families
A single-volume work that contains original essays by expert contributors on a wide range of topics relating to the sociology of families, including social inequality, parenting practices, children’s work, the changing patterns of citizenship, and multi-cultural families.
Gives special attention to European and North American examples.
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
This single volume contains over 600 entries on American and European sociology traditions and approaches. Articles cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, and other topics.
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology
An online-only distillation of the most important 800 entries from the five-volume Encyclopedia of Sociology, reflecting the whole breadth of the discipline.
Critical Dictionary of Sociology / Raymond Boudon and François Bourricaud
This distinguished print reference work is much more than a lexicon or ordinary dictionary. Each essay, complete with bibliographical references, presents a selective and critical discussion of some issue fundamental to sociology.
Dictionary of Sociology
This online guide provides widespread coverage of all aspects of sociology. It also contains biographies covering key figures, such as Gilles Deleuze and Erich Fromm.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory
A two-volume set that is useful for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
This five-volume print set presents over 400 essays written by scholars about all kinds of topics within the broad field of sociology. It is useful both for scholars and professionals investigating new areas of study and for students needing introductory overviews.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
A 26-volume set that is also online
, this covers the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. It comprises 4,000 articles, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Routledge Companion to Social Theory
A recent single-volume guide to both classical and contemporary social theory, this includes a helpful glossary of key terms and theorists.