Skip to main content
Finding Articles-- Black and African American Studies
UCSD Libraries subscribe to several databases specific to Gender Studies and the Social Sciences. Databases contain articles that have been published in scholarly journals. These are just a few recommended for your research. Use the yellow button to find the online full text or print articles when the article isn't automatically available full text in the database.
19th century-present. Incorporates African Studies and South African Studies databases. Sources include books, periodical and magazine articles, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, more.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Full text of all or parts of 177 magazines and journals published by or for the African American community between 1825 and 1995. Topics include race relations and civil rights, religion, business, literature and the arts, and general interest magazines. Searches may be limited to place (state) or date of publication, topic, keywords, broad categories, etc.
Black Studies Center
Includes full text journals and indexing from the International Index of Black Periodicals, newspapers such as the Chicago Defender, Black Literature Index, and essays from the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience.
IIBP: International Index to Black Periodicals
Citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean (as far back as 1902)--and full-text coverage of over 40 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward)
Oxford African American Studies Center
More than 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, plus primary sources with commentaries, over 1,000 images, maps, charts and tables, timelines, and over 6,000 biographies
Race Relations Abstracts
1975-present. Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Finding Articles--General and Interdisciplinary
The following databases look at all areas of the social sciences, humanities and arts and also general interest publications. With one search, you may be able to pull out research from many different disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2000 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
The following databases cover all aspects of history.
America: History and Life
1964-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations.
1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.