Skip to main content
Finding News Resources: Databases
Access World News: United States
Full-text content (but not page images) of more than 650 U.S. newspapers, including 116 in California. Local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics and government. Part of a larger database with international coverage. Dates vary, but very little before the late 1980s.
Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.
Coverage is mostly 1980s to present, though some as far back as 1960s. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
San Diego Union Tribune
1984-present. Full text (but no images) of the Union-Tribune, and before the 1990 merger, of the separate San Diego Union and Evening Tribune. For page images, library has on microfilm 1992-present
Black and African American Newspapers
African American Newspapers 1827-1998
Over 300 newspapers covering the 19th and early-mid 20th centuries; some later. Many titles include only a few years; others much longer. Can be searched with America's Historical Newspapers, Hispanic American Newspapers.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Full text of 6 newspapers: Freedom's Journal (1827-30); Colored American (1837-1841); North Star (1847-51); National Era (1847-50); Provincial Freeman (1854-55); Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-52). Some years incomplete.
Proquest Black Historical Newspapers
Cover-to-cover article and page images of Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-40, 1946-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002).