Skip to main content
Primary Sources: Databases
Looking for primary sources? Try the resources below!
Afro-American Imprints, 1535-1922
Includes books, pamphlets and broadsides spanning from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought, including political protest and resistance to racism; descriptions of African American life throughout the Americans; and slavery and race in fiction and drama.
Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
Booker T. Washington, founder of the National Negro Business League, believed that solutions to the problem of racial discrimination were primarily economic, and that bringing African Americans into the middle class was the key. In 1900 he established the League "to promote the commercial and financial development of the Negro" and headed it until his death
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Hundreds of FBI files documenting the federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution to which black Americans of all political persuasions were subjected. Many of the documents originated with black "confidential special informants" enlisted by the FBI to infiltrate a variety of organizations. The collection provides detailed coverage of: "Negro radicals" and their organizations; the FBI's infringement of First Amendment freedoms; and its preoccupation with black radicalism between 1920 and 1984.
Primary Sources: Online
Primary Source Guide: African Americans
A variety of primary sources on African Americans.
The UC’s gateway to primary resources about California. There are over 150,000 photographs, documents, newspaper pages, cartoons, diaries and more!
Mandeville Special Collections
Houses rare books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, art works, sound recordings, archives, and other primary materials.
Online Archive of California
A collection of finding aids and digitized manuscripts, photographs, oral histories, etc. that documents the history, culture and people of California.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
For full text/page images of: