Skip to main content

HIEA 115: Social and Cultural History of Twentieth-Century Japan: Media

Online Film Collection

Kanopy is video database that comes from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.

Alexander Street Press is a video/audio database that contains many different historic collections from the US to international and cover various topics including LGBT movement, popular music, dance, and more. Their recent updates include Women and Social Movements.    

Library Film Collection

The Library also has many films in Japanese and other languages available at the 1st floor Media Desk.

To search for a film in Roger, you can click on the Films & Videos and then search. 
Or if you are already searching in Roger, you can use the dropdown menu on top
(the preference is "All Collection") to Films & Videos. 

If you are in the Advanced Search, at the bottom left, you can change the Material Type to Films. 

Images

ARTstor Licensed by UCSD

http://library.artstor.org/library/welcome.html

Comprised of 300,000 digital images and their corresponding data and the tools to make active use of those images; includes many East Asian images

Getting started using ARTstor http://libguides.ucsd.edu/content.php?pid=119251&sid=1028203

ARTstor Asian Studies guide http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-pdf/sg_asianstudies.pdf

Image Guide

http://libguides.ucsd.edu/content.php?pid=119251

Use this guide to find images for research and class presentations