Skip to main content

ECON 162: Economics of Mexico: Academic Research

These resources are hand-selected for this class because they provide background, country studies, data and academic articles related to the Mexican economy.

Welcome

There is no "one-stop shopping" for scholarly literature on economic and political topics in Mexico, so a proper retrieval strategy generally requires visits to several databases, each of which carries particular strengths and weaknesses (not to mention different search interfaces).

Among the products cited herein for this class, EconLit, Business Source Complete and Academic Search Complete offer quick access to viewable article texts, drawn from strong sets of academic, trade, and general periodicals. Try the other databases as needed for extended disciplinary coverage.

Law Reviews

Law review articles often work well with topics like trade, investment, regulation, intellectual property, and human rights. LexisNexis Academic carries over 900 full-text law reviews. Still more are online via WestlawNext.

Core Databases

Pre-Publication Scholarship

The scholarly editorial and publishing process takes months to get new manuscripts into print, but these sites organize and distribute early versions of relevant academic papers for use now. Many, but not all, of these papers will eventually appear in journals or books.

Database Tips

When viewing database search results, look for the yellow

UC-eLinks button

button to help lead you to matching online full-text articles from our licensed e-journal providers. Some databases may have loaded internal HTML or PDF texts as well.

For most topics, you should run searches across multiple databases for best results.

Nearly all databases have a user help link in the upper right-hand corner with search tips and other guidance.

Take advantage of database features such as citation formatting and exporting, limiting to academic journals, and automatic alerting to new articles.