LibGuides: CGS 113: Gender and Sexuality in the Arts: Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Articles--General and Interdisciplinary

The following databases look at all areas of the social sciences, humanities and arts and also general interest publications. With one search, you may be able to pull out research from many different disciplines.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.

Finding Articles-- Gender Studies and Art

UCSD Libraries subscribe to several databases specific to Gender Studies and the Social Sciences. Databases contain articles that have been published in scholarly journals. These are just a few recommended for your research. Use the yellow UC-eLinks button to find the online full text or print articles when the article isn't automatically available full text in the database.

Contemporary Women's Issues
Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than
1500 publications, offering a multidisciplinary focus on gender issues.
GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
LGBT Life
A resource for literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 GLBT-specific core periodicals.

AP Newsroom
With millions of images dating back more than 150 years, this is one of the world's largest archives of historical & current imagery. Updated every minute. Includes news, entertainment, arts, business, and sports coverage from AP and selected partners. The content includes top news stories, photos, audio clips and print graphics.
ARTstor
Library of over 2.5 million digital images and their corresponding metadata. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals
1972-present. Includes comprehensive coverage of television periodicals 1972-2000, and coverage of tv in film periodicals since that date. Also several other more specialized databases on film research.
Film and Television Literature Index
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
International Index to the Performing Arts (Full-Text) (IIPA-FT)
An index to over 200 journals and magazines in the fields of dance, drama, film, theater, opera, puppetry, circus, and other forms of performance art.
Kanopy
The videos come from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.
Rock's Backpages
Thousands of articles from underground magazines such as Punk, Creem, and Mojo, also from more mainstream titles such as Melody Maker, Spin and Rolling Stone. Includes some reviews and audio interviews.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is a scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibiographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Women's Studies International
1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Womens Studies Abstracts (1984-present).

Finding Articles--Specific Subjects

Depending on your specific area of research, you may want to look in related disciplines and fields of study. The following databases cover a larger number of publications than more general databases.

Databases A-Z
A complete alphabetical database list.
Subject Guides A-Z
Most Critical Gender Studies research is incredibly interdisciplinary, so use the Subject Guides to identify sources not listed here either in your area or in other subject areas.

America: History and Life
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
1966-present. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education; provides access to educational-related literature. Coverage includes journal articles and non-journal sources in education which are not available online. If not online, write down the ED# located in the 'Accession Number' field of the record, and check the ERIC documents microfiche cabinets located in the Geisel Library Reference Area.

Ethnic Newswatch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present

Historical Abstracts
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
PAIS Archive
Lists articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
PsycARTICLES
1894-present. A database of full-text articles from more than 100 journals published by the American Psychological Assoc., the APA Educational Publ. Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Assoc., Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the National Institute of Mental Health. Updated weekly. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Sociological Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.