Skip to main content

HIUS 103 - United States and the Pacific World: Using Special Collections

Using Special Collections

All Special Collections & Archives materials are stored in an environmentally controlled, secured area and all users must register and place requests to see the materials. Once you have registered and placed your request, come into the library and bring a photo ID. We will pull the materials for you when you arrive.

Register and create your Special Collections Research Account, and log in to your account: https://spcoll-request.ucsd.edu/logon.

All SC&A materials are cataloged in Roger  and will be identified with the location: Special Collections. For tips on searching Roger, consult the page "How to Find and Request Special Collections Materials."

Special Collections & Archives is located on the main floor of Geisel Library

Hours:  M-F, 9-5; 9-7 on Wednesdays during the quarter

Questions? Email us at spcoll@ucsd.edu

About the Collections

Encompassing UC San Diego's Mandeville Special Collections and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography Archives, Special Collections & Archives houses a wide range of rare books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, artworks, recordings, and archives. These primary source materials support UCSD's instructional and research programs, and distinguish UCSD's library collections from all other research universities.

Special Collections focuses on building its collections in concert with UCSD’s academic programs to build comprehensive research collections around specific subjects. Areas of exceptional strength include:

  • Early voyages of exploration and discovery to the Pacific prior to 1850
  • Scientific endeavors in marine sciences, post-1850
  • Spanish Civil War - the largest extant collection on the subject
  • Post-1945 American poetry in the "alternative" tradition, including extensive collections of poets' manuscripts and correspondence
  • History of San Diego, southern California, and Baja California
  • Contemporary science and public policy, including the personal archives of some of the nation's most renowned scientists
  • Culinary history of Mexico, Latin America, and the Pacific Rim
  • Melanesian anthropology
  • The UCSD Archives document the history of the campus

Digitization has made many of UCSD’s special collections more widely accessible. Search or browse the digital library collections here: http://library.ucsd.edu/dc

Questions?

Heather Smedberg's picture
Heather Smedberg
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives

Geisel Library Building
858-246-0351
http://libraries.ucsd.edu/collections/sca/Tumblr:
Website / Blog Page

Special Collections Reading Room