Skip to main content

HIUS 174: Race Wars in American Culture: Newspapers

Newspapers

Newspaper Collections

Accessible Archives
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century: Freedom's Journal (1827-30); Colored American (1837-1841); North Star (1847-51); National Era (1847-50); Provincial Freeman (1854-55); Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-52). Some years incomplete.
Civil War: a Newspaper Perspective (1860-1865):  major articles from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.

Access World News
Includes 650 newspapers from the United States, as well as many more from around the world. Most cover only recent years, but some go back as far at the mid-1980s.

African American Newspapers, 1822-1998
Newspapers in the 19th and early-mid 20th centuries; some later. Many titles include only a few years; others much longer. When complete will have 270 papers from 35 states. Can be searched with America's Historical Newspapers, Hispanic American Newspapers.

California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922
Digital archive of 30 California newspapers (10 of them forthcoming), 1850-1900. One newspaper until 1922. Some include brief runs of 1-3 years, others cover much longer spans.

California Digital Newspaper Collection, 1845-1911
200,000 pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-191l: the Alta California, 1849-1891; the San Francisco Call, 1893-1910; the Amador Ledger, 1900-1911; the Imperial Valley Press, 1901-1911; the Sacramento Record-Union, 1859-1890; and the Los Angeles Herald, 1905-1907.

Ethnic Newswatch (1960-present; the majority starting 1980s and later)
Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Use Publications tab to browse/search individual papers.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Nearly 300 Spanish-language newspapers from 13 states (including California) published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Search, browse and view article and page images.

Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers, 1942-1945.
Online collection of 25 newspapers published in the Relocation Camps in several U.S. states during World War II.

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Cover to cover article text & page images of the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1989), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-1989), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), The New York Times (1851-2009), New York Tribune (1841-1922), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), The Times of India (1838-2003), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), The Washington Post (1877-1996), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1991).  De-select the modern papers (e.g., Boston Globe) in the Databases menu if you only want Historical Newspapers.

Proquest Black Historical Newspapers
Cover-to-cover article and page images of Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993). Select only the above titles in the Databases menu to search only black historical newspapers.