Skip to main content
Data and Statistics
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a major center for the study of public opinion and regularly conducts polls (both at home and abroad) about various social and political topics and contemporary issues. They make many of their studies available for download here. Many of the more recent data files are in SPSS format. Users are required to register before downloading a dataset, but registration is free.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
1973-present. Huge database of citations to statistical publications from U.S. federal and state governments, international agencies, nonprofit and educational institutions, and private publishers including trade and industry groups. Full text of the publication or report is often included, and many tables are downloadable in Excel. Particularly good for demographic and country-level information. Previous name Statistical Universe.
Statistical Abstract of the United States, ProQuest (2013- )
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables. This database replaces the previously-free Census Bureau publication (1878-2012)
. It uses many of the same, along with additional, data sources as the earlier editions.
Gender Statistics Website
From the U.N.'s Economic Commission for Europe. Site brings together both gender statistics and policies. Main focus is on the production, dissemination and use of gender related data. Includes Gender Statistics Database.
Genderstats: Database of Gender Statistics
Genderstats is an electronic database of gender statistics and indicators designed with user-friendly, menu-driven features