LibGuides: South Asian Studies: Country Information and Reports

Related Research Guides

Many of these resources are taken from the Statistics/Data Tab of the UCSD Library International Government Information Research Guide which points to resources to find great background information and statistics on countries around the world. Using such resources is a helpful place to start research on any South Asian country.

The United Nations provide Research Guides on many international topics which are helpful for research on South Asia as a region, or individual countries or regions within South Asia.

Resources for Basic Country Information

Great Sources for Quick Profiles/Statistical Information:

Europa World Plus
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of countries and global regions. Contact info for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people. Access limited to 1 user at a time. Try again later if refused.
CIA World Fact Book

Latest edition of annual survey, with profiles of all countries and territories from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

Human Development Report

Full text of UNDP Human Development Reports, from 1990 to the next to most current year, plus national Human Development Reports and an excellent statistics section on industrialized and developing countries.

Additional Resources Listed Alphabetically:

Country Studies from the Library of Congress

Each online book contains historical and cultural background information on the country it covers. Formerly known as the Area Handbooks from the Department of the Army.

Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD Portal)
Portal to UCSD-subscribed EIU content. Includes searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.

Geo.worldbank.org

A mashup of World Bank data with Google Maps. Has basic data, news, and project information for every country in which the World Bank is involved.
Latin American and Caribbean Macro Watch (Inter-American Development Bank)

Latinnews
Includes focused, special reports, such as commodity reports, regional reports, and security and strategic reviews.
The MacroDataGuide

The MacroDataGuide is a tool that has been especially developed by the Norwegian Social Science Data Services to save researchers and students time and energy in their search for high quality social science macro data. While the main distinction is most often drawn between micro and macro data, the term 'meso data' is also sometimes used. Meso data generally refers to data on collective and cooperative actors such as commercial companies, organizations or political parties.

more...

Military Balance

Annual publication with detailed statistical information about the world's militaries including budget, enlisted personnel, and firepower.
Political Risk Yearbook
The Political Risk Yearbook is an annual publication that “contains all 100 Political Risk Services’ Country Reports updated to the previous December, demarcated along regional lines, using the globally-recognized Coplin-O’Leary political risk rating methodology.” Included in Business Source Complete.
UN Member States On the Record

Provides direct access to official documents reflecting the views of United Nations Member States by bringing together in one place documents available elsewhere.
USAID

The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) is an independent agency that provides economic, development and humanitarian assistance around the world in support of the foreign policy goals of the United States. The site provides an overview of each county where the agency does work.
US State Department Countries & Regions

Provides access to Background Information, Fact Sheets, General and Subject-Specific Regional and Country Reports, and Travel Advisory and Information.