Skip to main content

South Asian Studies: UCSD Special Collections and Archives and Digital Collections

An introductory guide to doing research in South Asian Studies at UCSD Library

UCSD Digital Collections

Digitization has made many of UCSD’s special collections more widely accessible through UCSD Digital Collections.  See the UC San Diego Library Digital Collections Research Guide for tips on how to search.

UCSD Special Collections

Encompassing UC San Diego's Mandeville Special Collections and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography Archives, UCSD's Special Collections & Archives houses a wide range of rare books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, artworks, recordings, and archives. These primary source materials support UCSD's instructional and research programs, and distinguish UCSD's library collections from all other research universities. 

All Special Collections and Archives (SC&A) materials are cataloged in Roger and finding aids for manuscript collections are available on our website, along with our policies and more information about our collections: http://libraries.ucsd.edu/collections/sca/

For tips on searching Roger, consult the page "How to Find and Request Special Collections Materials."

All Special Collections & Archives materials are stored in an environmentally controlled, secured area and all users must register and place requests to see the materials. If the items are located onsite, we will pull on demand when you arrive at the library. Keep an eye out for materials that are located offsite (it will say so in Roger), as delivery times for these items may be up to a week.

Register online to use Special Collections & Archives: https://spcoll-request.ucsd.edu/logon. Once registered, you can place requests online directly from the catalog and finding aids, or log in to your account to queue requests for a future visit and to view previous requests.

In addition to registering you will also need to show your photo ID when you visit Special Collections.