Skip to main content

HIEU 151: Spain Since 1808 - Guide for Special Collections / Spanish Civil War Assignment: Using Special Collections

Using Special Collections

Spanish Civil War Collections at UC San Diego:

UC San Diego Library's Mandeville Special Collections holds the world’s largest and most comprehensive collection of materials documenting the Spanish Civil War. The Southworth Collection, named for Herbert Rutledge Southworth, an American journalist who began collecting a wide range of items during the war, includes more than 13,000 published books and pamphlets, propaganda posters, stamps, newspapers, manuscripts, and memoirs, as well as more than 600 childrens’ drawings.

More on the Southworth Spanish Civil War Collection

Many of the pamphlets from the Southworth Collection have been digitized by Gale Cengage and are available to anyone with a UCSD IP address.

The Basics of Using Special Collections:

All Special Collections & Archives (SC&A) materials are stored in an environmentally controlled, secured area and all users must register and place requests to see the materials. You will use the materials in our reading room on the main floor of the Geisel Library Building.

  • If the items are located onsite, we will pull on demand when you arrive to use the materials.
  • If items are stored in one of our offsite storage locations delivery times for these items may be up to a week.

Register:

Register online to use Special Collections & Archives: https://spcoll-request.ucsd.edu/logon. Once registered, you can place requests directly from the catalog and finding aids, or log in to your account to view previous requests. In addition to registering you will also need to show your photo ID when you visit Special Collections.

Request:

All SC&A materials are cataloged in Roger, the Library's catalog. Search the catalog, select the title of the item you want to use, place the request, and then come in to SC&A. For tips on searching Roger and more details on the request process, consult the page "How to Find and Request Special Collections Materials."

 

Hours:  M-F, 9-5 During the Summer

Questions? Email us at spcoll@ucsd.edu

 

Special Collections Reading Room

About the Collections

Encompassing UC San Diego's Mandeville Special Collections and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography Archives, Special Collections & Archives houses a wide range of rare books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, artworks, recordings, and archives. These primary source materials support UCSD's instructional and research programs, and distinguish UCSD's library collections from all other research universities.

Special Collections focuses on building its collections in concert with UCSD’s academic programs to build comprehensive research collections around specific subjects. Areas of exceptional strength include:

  • Early voyages of exploration and discovery to the Pacific prior to 1850
  • Scientific endeavors in marine sciences, post-1850
  • Spanish Civil War - the largest extant collection on the subject
  • Post-1945 American poetry in the "alternative" tradition, including extensive collections of poets' manuscripts and correspondence
  • History of San Diego, southern California, and Baja California
  • Contemporary science and public policy, including the personal archives of some of the nation's most renowned scientists
  • Culinary history of Mexico, Latin America, and the Pacific Rim
  • Melanesian anthropology
  • The UCSD Archives document the history of the campus

Digitization has made many of UCSD’s special collections more widely accessible. Search or browse the digital library collections here: http://library.ucsd.edu/dc

Questions?

Heather Smedberg's picture
Heather Smedberg
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives

Geisel Library Building
858-246-0351
http://libraries.ucsd.edu/collections/sca/Tumblr:
Website / Blog Page