TDGR 289: Intro to Doctoral Studies: Musical Theater

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dietz, Dan. The Complete Book of 1940s Broadway Musicals. Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.

Dietz, Dan. The Complete Book of 1950s Broadway Musicals. Rowman & Littlefield, 2014.

Dietz, Dan. The Complete Book of 1960s Broadway Musicals. Rowman & Littlefield, 2014.

Dietz, Dan. The Complete Book of 1970s Broadway Musicals. Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.

Dietz, Dan. The Complete Book of 1980s Broadway Musicals. Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.

Everett, William A. Historical Dictionary of the Broadway Musical. 2nd edition. Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.

Ganzl, Kurt. The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre. 2nd edition. New York: Schirmer Books, 2001. 3 vols. Geisel Reference  ML 102 .M88 G3 2001

Green, Stanley. Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre. New York: Dodd, Mead, 1976. Geisel Reference ML 102 .M88 G7

Hischak, Thomas S. The American Musical Film Song Encyclopedia. Westport, Ct: Greenwood Press, 1999. Geisel and Langson  Reference ML 102 .M68 H57 1999

Hischak, Thomas S. The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995. Geisel and Lagson Reference ML 102 .M88 H59 1995.

Hischak, Thomas S. American Plays and Musicals on Screen: 650 Stage Productions and Their Film and Television Adaptations. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2005. Geisel Reference PS 338 .M67 H57 2005; Langson stacks same call number.

Hischak, Thomas S. The Oxford Companion to the American Musical: Theatre, Film, and Television.  Geisel 1 West: ML 102 .M88 J593 2008

Peterson, Bernard L. A Century of Musicals in Black and White. An Encyclopedia of Musical Stage Works By, About, or Involving African Americans. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993. Music, Geisel 1 West ML 102 .M88 P37 1993 (Library Use Only)

Robinson, Mark A. The World of Musicals: An Encyclopedia of Stage, Screen and Song. Santa Barbara: Greenwood, 2014.  

Summers, Claude, ed.. The Queer Encyclopedia of Music, Dance, and Musical Theater. San Francisco: Cleis Press, 2004. Geisel Reference ML 100 .Q44 2004.

Information on Musicals in General and Particular Musicals

Musicals Dot Net. Detailed information on about 80 musicals, including synopsis, songlists (with some lyrics), and a link to a discussion forum. Also has recent news and links to other sites. 

Gilbert and Sullivan Archive. Central place for great information about G&S productions, historic and current.

R&H: Rodgers and Hammerstein. The most complete web source for information relating to the most famous composer/lyricist team in Broadway Musicals history.

Sondheim.Com and The Stephen Sondheim Reference Guide are two of several websites that provide information about original productions, available recordings, revivals, interviews with collaborators, etc.


The Broadway Musical Cast Album Database. Search by show titles, song titles, singers.  Each entry gives year of premiere, year of recording, singer(s), conductor, track labels. Fairly complete through 2007, but it has not been updated for shows premiered, or recordings released, since 2008. 

Cast Albums.Org.  This database extends and partly duplicates the one above, and focuses on news about new recordings.

 Although they may have been superseded by the two databases above, a number of printed discographies of musical recordings, covering Broadway, Film, Television, other staged productions, or a combination, are available in the LIbrary for comparison and further research. Locate these by using the Library of Congress subject heading "Musicals--Discography"