Crimson Hexagon is a web-based library of social media posts (updated in real-time) and social media analysis software platform. Posts can be searched using keywords and then either downloaded for off-line analysis with third party tools or analyzed using Crimson Hexagon’s data visualizations.
1973-present. Huge database of citations to statistical publications from U.S. federal and state governments, international agencies, nonprofit and educational institutions, and private publishers including trade and industry groups. Full text of the publication or report is often included, and many tables are downloadable in Excel. Particularly good for demographic and country-level information. Previous name Statistical Universe.
Datastream is available on 7 workstations in the Data & GIS Data Lab in Geisel Library. This database includes worldwide equity coverage direct from the stock markets, comprehensive market indices, economics data direct from national government sources as well as the OECD and IMF, fixed income securities and associated indices, commodities and derivatives data.
Datastream is a historical financial numerical database that provides a range of charting and reporting tools that enable users to manipulate and display, or simply download data. The Microsoft Excel add-in enables users to access the Datastream database from within Excel.
WRDS provides access to selected datasets in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing, and public policy. To use, UCSD faculty and graduate students must request a WRDS account, available on the front page of the WRDS site. UCSD undergraduates must have faculty sponsorship and a UCSD ID.
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. World's largest archive of social science data. Election data, opinion polls, more. Special collections on Health, Education, Aging, Crime, Substance Abuse. Raw data; no tables. To download data, create a personal account using your ucsd.edu email address while accessing the database from a UC San Diego computer, UCSD-PROTECTED wireless, or the VPN.
Provides easy access to statistical data. Data is downloadable in Excel and CSV, and shapefiles when multiple geographies are covered. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies. See the Data-Planet Libguide for more detail.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) data package. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
The predominate software in GIS is ArcGIS by ESRI. It can be expensive and has a learning curve for users, but is extremely robust and as noted, is predominate in the GIS industry. Can be used in a desktop, server or web environment.
Accessible only via our Data & GIS Lab in Geisel Library, our Business Analyst offerings cover U.S Business location data, for 2013 and 2014. Use the link above to learn more about Business Analyst. Read more of the .
Browse these annual volumes to get ideas. They include a 'best in breed' compilation from users, and cover topics from business and economics as well as government, health, naturual resources, transportation, utilities and more.