Skip to main content

POLI 160AA/USP 101: Policy Analysis (Fall 2017): Books, Media, More

Search tip: Use Roger to find books (including ebooks) available at the UC San Diego Library, Circuit to find books in other San Diego libraries, or Melvyl to at one of the ten UC campuses or to request a book from libraries around the world. 

Search tip: Remember, though, that you're only searching basic cataloging information about the book (not the book contents itself) so keep your search general.

Begin with a keyword search, for example

(norway or scandinavia) and family policy

belgium and government policy

health poli*

(Note that the * is a truncation symbol, e.g. poli* returns results for policy, policies, politic, political, politics, etc. Beware of truncation, though. In this case, poli* also returns hits for police, policing, etc.)

When you find a record for a book that looks useful, take a look at the subject headings. In Roger, these subject headings are clickable links that run a new search. Searching by these subject headings may help find resources that don't turn up with an initial keyword search. They might also give you ideas of other search terms to use in your keyword search.

Handbooks

Tip: Try searching in Roger for your topic (either country or policy area) and handbooks or encyclopedias. For example:

[policy area] and (handbook or encyclop*) and policy and (economic* or social or welfare)

Search Tip: Roger is UC San Diego's Library catalog. Use it to find whether we own books, journals, films, maps, documents, etc. Will not return results for individual journal articles.

rogerroger   Books, Journals, Dissertations,
Conference Proceedings...
My Library Account    
Search Roger by Title, Author, etc.

 

Search Tip: Melvyl now also includes citations to articles from many (but definitely not all) of UC San Diego's article databases. 

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Bonus search tip: Google Scholar is a useful tool because it searches within the full text of articles. It's most useful when your topic is so narrow that you don't find much using the subject-specific databases.