Skip to main content
Journal Articles as Research Resources
Journal articles are especially good for finding current research on a topic. Articles which are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" are written by scholars and professionals in the field. Many of the Library's databases will let you limit your search to these types of publications.
Be sure to look at the bibliography of any article that seems particularly relevant, because it can lead you to other useful resources.
The databases below will likely include articles relevant to your research. If you are unable to find appropriate articles on your city, browse the Library's subject guides to identify other useful databases in a variety of disciplines. You can also contact Kelly or contact the Library for assistance.
Best Bet Databases
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Alternative Press Index
Citations to articles in roughly 381 alternative, radical, and left publications in North America. which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1934-present, with selective coverage back to 1741. Lists journal articles in architecture, and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, interior design
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Coverage dates back to 1888.
This database pulls citations from websites, databases and publications all over the web and is especially useful if your topic is relatively new or extremely interdisciplinary. If you use Google Scholar on campus or with the proxy/VPN set up on your home computer, you will be able to access lots of full text articles paid for by the UCSD Libraries.
1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2000 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included.
Lexis Nexis Academic
LNA contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. Successor product Nexis Uni
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
Periodicals Archive Online
1802-2000. Full text of North American and European journals in arts, humanities, social sciences.
Search across a number of social science journals, or select subject-specific (e.g. urban studies) titles.
Social Services Abstracts
1979 - present, indexes and some full-text of articles in Social Services related subjects, including: poverty and homelessness, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Web of Science
Covers over 6,000 journals in all subjects. Includes the unique "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Coverage goes back to 1900.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the UC-eLinks button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.