Skip to main content

San Diego-area Federal Documents Collections: Home

Introduction

This brief guide is intended to provide basic information about San Diego-area libraries that are part of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). While there is likely a degree of overlap from one library's collection to another, each library has access to some print and electronic resources that the others don't. If you are looking for a specific publication from the federal government and do not find it at your "home" institution, it is very possible that one of the other libraries listed may have it.

San Diego County Depository Libraries

San Diego Public Library - Central Library

  • Library catalog (Some federal documents are cataloged.)
  • Research Guide - none available
  • Depository selection rate: 86%
  • Year designated as depository: 1895
  • Collection focus/strengths: Congressional materials, Census, geological (USGS) information including topographical maps for the West, Department of Agriculture publications, patent and trademark materials
  • Research Librarian: Mr. Gary Klockenga

San Diego State University - The Library and Information Access

  • Library catalog  (Some federal documents are cataloged.)
  • Research guide
  • Depository selection rate: 85%
  • Year designated as depository: 1962
  • Collection focus/strengths: Interdisciplinary
  • Research Librarian: Mr. Wil Weston

UC San Diego - Geisel Library

  • Library catalog (All federal documents are cataloged, and advanced keyword search allows limiting to documents.)
  • Research guide
  • Depository selection rate: 55%
  • Year designated as depository: 1963
  • Collection focus/strengths: interdisciplinary social sciences, with an emphasis on U.S. demographics, public policy and legislation
  • Research Librarian: Ms. Kelly Smith

San Diego County Depository Libraries

Cal State San Marcos - Kellogg Library

  • Library catalog  (All federal documents are cataloged.)
  • Research guide
  • Depository selection rate: 26%
  • Year designated as depository: 1994
  • Collection focus/strengths: Interdisciplinary
  • Research Librarian: Ms. Judith Downie

University of San Diego - Pardee Legal Research Center

  • Library catalog  (All federal documents are cataloged.)
  • Research guide
  • Depository selection rate: 12%
  • Year designated as depository: 1967
  • Collection focus/strengths: legal material
  • Reseach Librarian: Mr. Brent Bernau

San Diego Law Library

  • Library catalog (All federal documents are cataloged.)
  • Research guide
  • Depository selection rate: 8%
  • Year designated as depository: 1973
  • Collection focus/strengths: legal material
  • Research Librarian: Mr. Chris Pickford