Skip to main content
Best way to find articles is generally via databases. Most have indexing that helps with higher relevance in results retrieved. All databases also have the UC-eLinks button for retrieving full-text. Make an appointment with a librarian if you need help getting started.
Setting Up Google Scholar
Set up Google Scholar for full-text access
- Click Settings at the top of the browser window
- Choose Library Links from the left-side menu
- Search for University of California, San Diego
- Mark check box next to option and click forward arrow
When you search for articles, you will now see a secondary column with additional links on the right. Where you see UC-eLinks, you may click that link and it will take you to the article through the library databases.
(Note: If you are not logged into the VPN (see home page of this guide), when you choose an article, you will be asked to log in with your UCSD username and password)
FIND full-text of an article
If a PDF isn't automatically available full-text in the database, use the yellowish-orange UC-eLinks button to find full-text. It will take you directly to the full-text or to the journal where you will navigate to the particular article. If no online link appears, use the Request It link for interlibrary loan access at no charge to you.
Subscribe to Journal Content with Browzine
To get started with BrowZine, install the app (or go to BrowZine.com), select UC San Diego from the list of campuses, then follow the instructions to create your account. You must be on the VPN or campus protected wifi network.
Databases to search for Articles
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database with over 6,000 journals in many subjects. Includes "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work.
BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and includes around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences. The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for all biological information, including marine biology, biological oceanography, marine ecology, developmental biology, and molecular biology. This is the preferred database to use over BIOSIS Previews because you can search for cited references.
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly.
1894-present. A database of full-text articles from more than 100 journals published by the American Psychological Assoc., the APA Educational Publ. Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Assoc., Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the National Institute of Mental Health. Updated weekly. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1941-present. Provides full text of over 30 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Preferences option for UC-eLinks.
A clinical search engine — sorts results by levels of evidence.
Free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs):22,568 journals (including 6,213 selected Open Access journals) from 1954 publishers. JournalTOCs is for researchers, students, librarians and anyone looking for the latest scholarly articles. JournalTOCs alerts you when new issues of your Followed journals are published.
A complete alphabetical list.