Skip to main content
Databases are collections of articles published in a selected field. The following databases are the most useful for biomedical research, and include scholarly articles from various journals and conferences in their selected fields. (Look to the left for a definition of scholarly articles.) For class research, an article database search can offer much more useful results than a Web search engine.
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page
BIOSIS Citation Index
The largest database covering the literature of the biological sciences. Covers journals as well as (selectively) books, conferences and patents. 1926 to present.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
1884-present. Articles from over 5,000 journals, conferences, technical reports and other materials related to the engineering and technical literature.
1898-present. Indexes articles in physics, geophysics, astronomy, computers, information technology, electronics, control, electrical, biomedical & ocean engineering, acoustics. Also indexes conference proceedings & IEEE standards.