Skip to main content

HIUS 104. The Revolutionary Atlantic. Professor Hanna: Using Special Collections

Using Special Collections

Special Collections & Archives (SC&A) materials are stored in an environmentally controlled, secured area. All users must register and place requests to see the materials and you will use the materials in our reading room. These materials may not be checked out of the library, and you will not be able to take pictures, so plan to spend some time in the reading room to complete your assignment.

  1. Read and agree to SC&A policies and procedures and register online: https://spcoll-request.ucsd.edu/logon.
  2. Once registered, place requests directly from the library's catalog, Roger. For tips on finding books and placing requests, go to the next page on this guide: How to Find and Request Special Collections Materials
  3. Bring your photo photo ID with you to Special Collections. We're on the main floor of the Geisel Library..

Thanksgiving Week Hours: Monday and Tuesday, 9-5; Wednesday 9-4. Closed Thursday - Sunday

Regular Hours:  M-F, 9-5 with extra hours until 7pm on Wednesdays

Questions? Email us at spcoll@ucsd.edu or drop in

For more information on our collections, policies, hours, and more visit the Special Collections & Archives website.

Special Collections Reading Room

About the Collections

Encompassing UC San Diego's Mandeville Special Collections and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography Archives, Special Collections & Archives houses a wide range of rare books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, artworks, recordings, and archives. These primary source materials support UCSD's instructional and research programs, and distinguish UCSD's library collections from all other research universities.

Special Collections focuses on building its collections in concert with UCSD’s academic programs to build comprehensive research collections around specific subjects. Areas of exceptional strength include:

  • Early voyages of exploration and discovery to the Pacific prior to 1850
  • Scientific endeavors in marine sciences, post-1850
  • Spanish Civil War - the largest extant collection on the subject
  • Post-1945 American poetry in the "alternative" tradition, including extensive collections of poets' manuscripts and correspondence
  • History of San Diego, southern California, and Baja California
  • Contemporary science and public policy, including the personal archives of some of the nation's most renowned scientists
  • Culinary history of Mexico, Latin America, and the Pacific Rim
  • Melanesian anthropology
  • The UCSD Archives and Scripps Archives, which document the history of the campus

Digitization has made many of UCSD’s special collections more widely accessible. Search or browse the digital library collections here: http://library.ucsd.edu/dc

Questions?

Heather Smedberg's picture
Heather Smedberg
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives

Geisel Library Building
858-246-0351
http://libraries.ucsd.edu/collections/sca/Tumblr:
Website / Blog Page