LibGuides: Structural Engineering: Journals/Articles

Finding Journals

If you have a specific article you are looking for, or want to know if UCSD subscribes to a specific journal, it is easiest to search directly using one of the sites listed here:

Search for a journal
If you want to know if UCSD subscribes to a journal (and for which years), search the catalog for the title of the journal.
Search for a specific article
If you know the title of a specific article, it is easiest to type the title into Google Scholar. Once you find the link, click on "UC e-Links" to get to access through UCSD.

Subject Searching in the Journal Literature

The databases listed here include research in a wide variety of formats in many aspects of structural engineering. For help with what resources are best for you, or any other questions about this site, please contact me. For information about accessing the online resources from off-campus, see our off-campus access page.

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
1983-present. Indexes over 5,000 journals, conferences, technical reports, and other materials related to the engineering and technical literature.
ASCE Civil Engineering Database
ASCE issues publications of the following types in print and/or electronic forms: journals and practice periodicals; conference proceedings; standards; manuals and reports on engineering practice; committee technical reports; ASCE Press; engineer, owner, and construction-related contract documents; and special publications.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1934-present, with selective coverage back to 1741. Lists journal articles in architecture, and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, interior design
Compendex
Indexes 20+ million journal and trade magazine articles, conference papers, standards, books, and other materials in all engineering disciplines. Core database for mechanical, aerospace, civil, structural, chemical, and environmental engineering, as well as materials science and nanotechnology. ****You can now cross search with Inspec for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate references can be removed.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
1971-present. EEA covers the world literature in earthquake engineering. Contents include selected technical reports, conference papers, books, and journal articles. Produced by the EERC at UC Berkeley.
GeoRef
Includes articles, conferences, dissertations and tech reports in all fields relating to geology.
Inspec
1969-present. Includes over 4,000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Especially good for IEEE documents and standards.
Materials Science & Engineering Database
Database for materials science and engineering research, indexing journals, magazines and grey literature (patents, conference proceedings, technical reports) for topics in metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials. Includes Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, METADEX, Corrosion Abstracts, and Ceramic Abstracts. Includes full text access to more than 2,000 journals.
Web of Science
1900-present. Indexes over 5,300 of the leading science journals across 164 scientific disciplines within engineering, physical, and life sciences, and provides searching of cited references.

Contact Info

Christina Mayberry

Email Me

Contact:

UC San Diego Library
9500 Gilman Drive #0175R
La Jolla, CA 92093-0175

858-534-4689

Subjects: Aerospace Engineering, Bioengineering, Endnote, Endnote Online, Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Structural Engineering