Skip to main content
Aluminum Can info
For information about aluminum cans, these resources have proven useful in the past. When searching for this topic, try a variety of search terms, including "beverage cans" and "beverage packaging" as well as "aluminum can".
Academic Search Complete
This database includes a few articles that talk about aluminum can manufacturing. Scientific American published an article some years back which may be useful.
Search "beverage cans." There are some articles about aluminum cans in this database, but most discuss testing, strength, and aluminum material properties. Articles in this database are mostly research-level, and not entry-level, but may be useful.
Material Selection and Properties
If you are looking for property data for various materials, these resources should help. The first link is especially useful for concrete info.
Concrete Materials: Properties, Specifications and Testing
Information about the strength of concrete, as well as much more about concrete.
searchable content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions on metals and engineered materials. Contains property data, processing & applications info for metals, composites, ceramics, and other engineered materials
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook
The most comprehensive source available for data on engineering materials for engineers making, selecting, or evaluating materials. Organized based on materials properties.
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science & Technology
11-volume set covering structural and functional materials. Searchable, browsable, and each article is accompanied by a bibliography.
The UCSD Library now has ASTM standards online. You can access the full text of the current standards at the link below.
Products and Companies
The largest online directory of companies, listed by product. Includes links to company homepages for more information.
Engineering News Record (use this for the most current issue only)
The S&E Library owns this in print. See the link for the call number. ENR is a weekly source for pricing of common construction costs, including steel, lumber and cement as well as general building costs.