Skip to main content
Databases with Historic Legal Content
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective
1908-1981.Indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia,New Zealand. Also annual surveys, yearbooks, and annual reviews of work in a given field or topic
LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to preserving and making accessible legal titles and government documents. Includes the Statutes at Large and US federal, US state, and foreign legislative, executive, and judicial materials.
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1620-1926
Includes not only published trial transcripts, but also popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery and other scandalous crimes.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Full text and page images of books published in English from 1475-1700. Search by subject, title, author. Will eventually include more than 125,000 books.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Digitization of The Eighteenth Century, a print library covering 150,000 titles and editions published in the United Kingdom 1701-1800. Search by keywords or browse individual books.
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes full text access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.(For full text of most historic reports and documents, try the U.S. Congressional Serial Set via Readex.)
Old Bailey Online
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913. A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
Online Library of Liberty
Full texts of almost 1500 classic works on art, economics, history, law, literature, music, philosophy, political theory, religion, science, sociology, war and peace.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers: the 19th Century
1801-1900. British House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, a detailed primary source for the United Kingdom, its colonies and the wider world. Searchable full text; displays page images with tables, maps, illustrations. Encompasses all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, "showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Many contributors to the papers were found outside the official world, providing evidence or supplying memoranda to committees and commissions.