Skip to main content
Library resources for the "When Disaster Strikes: Earthquake Engineering" cluster. For more, please consult our Geoscience and Structural Engineering research guides.
Roger - The Library Catalog
Getting Full-Text Articles from Ejournals
If the article isn't available full-text within the database you found it, click on the orange UC-eLinks button to check for other full text as well as print options. UC-eLinks checks to see if the article is available through UC San Diego Library's subscriptions - whether it is online or in print.
UC-eLinks makes it easy to:
- Check for online access
- Check the catalog (Roger) for the print version
- Format the citation information in one of 5 sytles to easily paste into your bibliography - use Copy & Paste citation
Key Information Resources
Ebook Collections and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Earthquake Engineering
Encyclopedia covering all major aspects of the science of earthquake engineering, specifically focusing on the interaction between earthquakes and infrastructure.
Treatise on Geophysics
This is a comprehensive, 10 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as earthquake seismology, mineral physics, geodesy, geomagnetism, crust, mantle and core dynamics, and evolution of the earth.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks
One of our largest collections of ebooks in science and engineering. Search across the whole collection. Formerly CRCnetBASE.
General science and technology encyclopedia and dictionary. Only 2 people can use this encyclopedia at the same time, so try again later if you get "access denied."
Journal Article Databases
Indexes journals and conference proceedings in many engineering disciplines. A core database for structural and civil engineering.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes articles in more than 11,000 journals, with full-text available for over 5,300 journals. Indexes popular and scholarly sources, but you can limit results to scholarly journals.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database
Covers articles and other sources in earth, atmospheric/climate science, and aquatic/marine sciences. Good for ecology and environmental science.
Indexes journals and technical reports in all areas of geology, including seismology.
Web of Science
Often the best place to start your search for journal articles for science and engineering. Indexes 12,000+ journals in all subjects, with heavy emphasis in the sciences. For each record, you can view what the authors cited, who has since cited the article, and look for related articles based on common citations.