Skip to main content
Library resources for the cluster "Bio/Mechanical Engineering: The Amazing Red Blood Cell. Find more resources for medical topics at our Online Clinical Library guide or for more biology related resources use the Biology Resources guide.
Find Articles in These Databases
Kay Databases for BioEngineering Topics
Covers over 5,500 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered are generally 1946 - present.. Search using keywords, be as specific as possible. For searching tips, see the Search Tips tab
1884-present. Articles from over 5,000 journals, conferences, technical reports and other materials related to the engineering and technical literature.
1898-present. Indexes articles in physics, geophysics, astronomy, computers, information technology, electronics, control, electrical, biomedical & ocean engineering, acoustics. Also indexes conference proceedings & IEEE standards.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Encyclopedias & Books
Suggested General Encyclopedias & Books
Access Science: Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online
Full access over, 8,500 articles and hundreds of research updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily.
Search/browse 2000+ science and engineering encyclopedias, handbooks, texts, and databases. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical & physical property data.
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Good for finding overview chapters on biomaterials or bioengineering technologies.
Nanotechnologies for the Life Sciences
Encyclopedia covering topics on nanomaterials & applications in the biological & medical sciences, including nanodevices, diagnostics, pharaceuticals; biosensors; cancer diagnosis/therapy; toxicity/environmental issues; tissue, cell & organ engineering.
Encyclopedia of LifeSciences
Short articles on a variety of life science topics.
Have Questions? Just Ask.
Getting the Full-Text of an Article
If the article isn't available full-text within the database you found it, click on the orange UC-eLinks button to check for other full text as well as print options.
UC-eLinks checks to see if the article is available through UC San Diego Library's subscriptions - whether it is online or in print. You may also find it appearing in Google Scholar when here on campus.
See all UC-eLinks can do ...