Skip to main content
This database covers a wide range of science disciplines. It is particularly useful in connecting documents
through citations. Once you find an article on your topic, is allows you to immediately get a list of all other articles that have referenced it. This is a good way to expand your topic and find related research. A
tutorial on how to perform this type of search can be found here.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
This is the place to find patents in the US, and information related
to patents. Both issued patents and patent applications can be
searched. For more info on patent searching, see this S&E guide.
US Patent and Trademark Office Databases
General web site for the USPTO. Contains information on patenting an idea, doing a patent search and locating the nearest patent depository library for hard copies.
If you are researching something that is already being manufactured, it will be useful to find information on that product and market. Below are some links to help you do that.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to business. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Predicasts Overview of Markets and Technologies
These two databases include numerous trade publications. (In Business Source Complete, select "Trade Publications" under Publication Type.) Trade publications are magazines aimed at industry-insiders, and include news and information on current trends and products in a given industry.
The largest online directory of companies, listed by product. Includes links to company homepages for more further information.
CorpTech Technology Companies
This database gives background and information for many technology companies. Good for doing market research and seeing company profiles.