Skip to main content
Civil War, U.S.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Contains 100,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs written 1861-65, by more than 2000 authors.
Civil War Diaries and Letters
Diaries, correspondence and photographs.
Civil War Documents
Includes official records of the Union and Confederate Navies, as well as reports and correspondence of the War of the Rebellion.
Civil War Women
Letters and memoirs of three women: a secessionist, a Union supporter, and a schoolgirl whose hometown of Gallatin Tennessee was occupied by Union soldiers.
Civil War: Primary Documents on Events from 1860 to 1865
Discusses how America's press covered the important issues and events of the Civil War. News articles, editorials, and cartoons from the time offer a range of opinions and reports on the crucial events that precipitated, sustained, and eventually concluded this vital chapter in American history and politics.
Crisis of the Union
"Documents about the causes, conduct and consequences of the U.S. civil war. " Addresses political, economic, social, religious, racial and gender issues.
eHistory at OSU*
A selection of letters & diaries; historical texts and documents; oral histories; photographs & maps. Also includes the Official Records of the U.S. Civil War.
Selected Civil War Photographs*
This collection contains 1118 photographs. Images include scenes of military personnel, preparations for battle, and battle after-effects. The collection also includes portraits of both Confederate and Union officers, and a selection of enlisted men.
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
Histories of two communities on either side of the Mason-Dixon line. Includes an electronic archives of the sources on which the narrative is based: maps & images, church records, military records, letters & diaries, newspapers and public records.
Use this box to search the web for primary sources. Only collections marked with an asterisk (*) in this guide will be searched.