Skip to main content
Books in the Library
These books are a sample of the great books available at the UCSD Libraries related to your Area of Concentration. Don't forget to to use the book's "Subject Heading" links to find more books on similar topics. Find more books & resources in the Library's Roger catalog.
Article & Research Databases
These databases must be used on campus or from a computer with proxy or VPN access set up. Don't forget to check out the Urban Studies Research Guide for more databases!
1927-present, citations to journal articles on art, architecture, photography, and related disciplines.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1934 - present, with selective coverage back to 1741. Indexes 2,500 + periodicals published worldwide on architecture, urban design, historic preservation, urban planning history, city planning, interior design, and archaeology.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Indexes articles in Urban Studies & related disciplines from 1973-present. Some full-text available, use UC-eLinks to access more.
Web Resources & Organizations
These resources are freely available on the web. They might include organizations and/or government agencies relevant to your Area of Concentration. Most sites will include publications and research in addition to information on projects undertaken by the organization or agency. Professional associations can be good sources to find what might be generally thought of as "key issues" facing the profession. Keep an eye out for links to "resources," "publications," "research" and similar categories indicating more substantive information.
The American Institute of Architects
Founded in 1857, this organization is "the leading professional membership association for licensed architects, emerging professionals, and allied partners." Their website includes resources and publications, some of which are free to the public, as well as best practices, examples of recent large architecture projects completed by members.
American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA)
ASLA is the national professional association for landscape architects, and was founded in 1899. "The Society's mission is to lead, to educate, and to participate in the careful stewardship, wise planning, and artful design of our cultural and natural environments." The Society's website has a variety of resources and current news related to landscape architecture.
International Association for Landscape Ecology, U.S. Regional Association
This organization aims to develop landscape ecology as a scientific basis for analysis, planning and management of the landscapes of the world and provides an infrastructure as a world-wide organization of landscape ecologists.
Smart Growth Online
A partnership of government, business and civic organizations that support smart growth. Since its creation in late 1996, the Network has become a storehouse of knowledge about smart growth principles, facilitating the sharing of best practices and acting as a catalyst for implementation of ideas.
Trust for Public Land
A national, nonprofit, land conservation organization dedicated to conserving land for people to enjoy as parks, community gardens, historic sites, rural lands, and other natural places, ensuring livable communities for generations to come. Site contains information on their current and past projects, including work preserving over 31,000 acres in San Diego County.
Recent UC Dissertations
Dissertations are available through the ProQuest database Dissertations & Theses. University of California dissertations should be available as a full text PDF to all UCSD users. Dissertations and theses from other univeristies may be requested through ILL; there is no need to purchase them unless you want to own a copy.
The list below is an automated RSS feed from the ProQuest database, showing recent UC dissertations related to urban architecture. To see more, click the "Feed" link at the bottom of the list. You can then subscribe to the feed if you'd like.