Skip to main content
Books in the Library
These books are a sample of the great books available at the UCSD Libraries related to your Area of Concentration. Don't forget to to use the book's "Subject Heading" links to find more books on similar topics. Find more books & resources in the Library's Roger catalog.
Article & Research Databases
These databases must be used on campus or from a computer with proxy or VPN access set up. Don't forget to check out the Urban Studies Research Guide for more databases!
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Index and selected full-text of Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes access to U.S. legislative information, including bills, hearings, testimony, reports, documents, CRS Reports, and more. This is a great place to look for policy and discussions on housing and almost anything else.
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Indexes articles in Urban Studies & related disciplines from 1973-present. Some full-text available, use UC-eLinks to access more.
Web Resources & Organizations
These resources are freely available on the web. They might include organizations and/or government agencies relevant to your Area of Concentration. Most sites will include publications and research in addition to information on projects undertaken by the organization or agency.
American Housing Survey
The American Housing Survey collects data on the Nation's housing. IN addition to data and statistics over time at the national and metropolitan levels, the AHS creates reports and briefs based on the housing data it collects.
California Department of Housing and Community Development:
California Government Agency whose mission is to provide leadership, policies and programs to preserve and expand safe and affordable housing opportunities and promote strong communities for all Californians.
National Housing Law Project
NHLP is a national housing law and advocacy center. Their goal is to advance housing justice for the poor by providing legal assistance, advocacy advice and housing expertise to legal services and other attorneys, low-income housing advocacy groups, and others who serve the poor.
San Diego Housing Federation
The San Diego Housing Federation is a coalition of nonprofit and other organizations and individuals working together to produce quality affordable housing and community development for lower income households. Their website website acts as a clearinghouse of information on housing issues in San Diego.
Recent UC Dissertations
Dissertations are available through the Proquest database Dissertations & Theses. See our remote access instructions for off campus access. University of California dissertations should be available as a full text PDF to all UCSD users. Others may be requested through ILL. There is no need to purchase them unless you want your own copy.
The list below is an automated RSS feed from the ProQuest database, showing recent UC dissertations related to housing. To see more, click the "Feed" link at the bottom of the list. You can then subscribe to the feed if you'd like.