Skip to main content
Books in the Library
These books are a sample of the great books available at the UCSD Libraries related to your Area of Concentration. Don't forget to to use the book's "Subject Heading" links to find more books on similar topics. Find more books & resources in the Library's Roger catalog.
Article & Research Databases
These databases must be used on campus or from a computer with proxy or VPN access set up. Don't forget to check out the Urban Studies Research Guide for more databases!
Criminology: A SAGE Full-text Collection
Includes full-text of 17 journals, 1990 - present. Subjects covered include: Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency & Justice, Corrections, Policing, Forensic Psychology, Family & Domestic Violence.
Social Services Abstracts
1979 - present, indexes and some full-text of articles in Social Services related subjects, including: poverty and homelessness, social welfare, social policy, gerontology and community development
Urban Studies Abstracts
Indexes articles in Urban Studies & related disciplines from 1973-present. Some full-text available, use UC-eLinks to access more.
Web Resources & Organizations
These resources are freely available on the web. They might include organizations and/or government agencies relevant to your Area of Concentration. Most sites will include publications and research in addition to information on projects undertaken by the organization or agency.
Human Development Reports
Reports from the United Nations Development Program, online full text back to 1990. Each year has a difference theme, and there are both global and regional reports. Broad subjects include: environment, health, inequity, globalization, human rights, education and more.
National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Demographic & student performance information is available at the district and even the school level.
San Diego Crime Statistics
Statistics on crime by neighborhood back to 2003; crime statistics for the city as a whole back to 1950.
Recent UC Dissertations
Dissertations are available through the Proquest database Dissertations & Theses. See our remote access instructions for off campus access. University of California dissertations should be available as a full text PDF to all UCSD users. Others may be requested through ILL. There is no need to purchase them unless you want your own copy.
The list below is an automated RSS feed from the ProQuest database, showing recent UC dissertations related to public health, safety and welfare. To see more, click the "Feed" link at the bottom of the list. You can then subscribe to the feed if you'd like.