Skip to main content
Books in the Library
These books are a sample of the great books available at the UCSD Libraries related to your Area of Concentration. Don't forget to to use the book's "Subject Heading" links to find more books on similar topics. Find more books & resources in the Library's Roger catalog.
Article & Research Databases
These databases must be used on campus or from a computer with proxy or VPN access set up. Don't forget to check out the Urban Studies Research Guide for more databases!
Alternative Press Index & Alternative Press Archive, Combined
1991-present. Citations to articles in roughly 381 alternative, radical, and left publications in North America. which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Especially good for articles on alternative transit methods.
1969-present. Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. Produced by American Economic Association.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Indexes articles in Urban Studies & related disciplines from 1973-present. Some full-text available, use UC-eLinks to access more.
Web Resources & Organizations
These resources are freely available on the web. They might include organizations and/or government agencies relevant to your Area of Concentration. Most sites will include publications and research in addition to information on projects undertaken by the organization or agency.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Part of the U.S. Department of Transportation; find statistics on all aspects of transportation in the U.S. here.
CalTrans (San Diego/Imperial Counties)
Info on planning, projects and other transportation issues in the Southern California districts.
City of San Diego Transportation Planning
Part of the Planning Department and is the section of the San Diego City Government responsible for transportation planning. Web site includes an online library
of San Diego transportation documents.
Institute for Transportation & Development Policy
U.S. based organization with projects around the world to promote environmentally sustainable and socially equitable transportation worldwide.
Transport Research International Documentation
This database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Coverage includes materials from 1880 to the present, with selected full-text. (TRID is an integrated database combining records from the TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.)
Recent UC Dissertations
Dissertations are available through the Proquest database Dissertations & Theses. See our remote access instructions for off campus access. University of California dissertations should be available as a full text PDF to all UCSD users. Others may be requested through ILL. There is no need to purchase them unless you want your own copy.
The list below is an automated RSS feed from the ProQuest database, showing recent UC dissertations related to transportation. To see more, click the "Feed" link at the bottom of the list. You can then subscribe to the feed if you'd like.