Skip to main content
Ask a Librarian
Get help when you need it. Check out the options.
Finding Scholarly Articles
The premier biomedical and health science database with nearly 20 million citations and growing. A key database for anyone in medicine or health sciences to know how to use.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications. Full-text is available for over 5300 journals right from the database, making it very easy to use.
Business Source Complete
The database to use for questions involving financial or economic factors in any discipline.
Indexes articles, books, chapters, thesis, and web pages dealing with psychology or psychiatry. It also covers the psychological aspects of health and health care.
A bibliographic database providing comprehensive coverage of the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals from 1965 to the present. TOXLINE contains over 3 million citations, almost all with abstracts and/or index terms and CAS Registry Numbers.
ToxNet (from the National Library of Medicine)
TOXicology Data NETwork is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. It is a one-stop search stop for ToxLine and several other toxicology databases.
Not just Google, use Scholar to find articles not web sites. Don't forget to check out the Advanced Search page. Also, set up Scholar Preferences to use UC-eLinks when off campus. See hints on how to do that.
Government Resources (Statistics)
Finding Statistics - a Couple of Places to Check
California Department of Health Services Vital Statistics Query System
From the California Center for Health Statistics, this system lets you construct detailed queries about California vital statistics (births, deaths) including variables such as county, age, cause of death, etc. Requires Java-enabled browser.
California Counties Health Status Profiles
The Office of Health Information and Research produces a variety of reports on the health and well-being of Californians. This webpage provides links to those reports which are available online. Reports are listed in alphabetical order by title.
Health United States (from the CDC)
From the National Center for Health Statistics, data on health trends in the American population - birth & death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and other health issues. Each year, a topical subject is also covered in depth.
Also from the CDC, Faststats provides stats on topics of public health importance.. Browse through their alphabetical list or search the site.
Other Authoritative Resources
Check Out Other Great Authoritative Sites
California Statistics (from RAND California)
From the RAND think tank. Generates tables of latest data on business and economics, population and demographics, census, health, education, government finance, community indicators, politics and public opinion.